Cricket Analysis

11 Legendary players who never won an ICC World Cup

5. Kumar Sangakkara

Kumar Sangakkara

Kumar Sangakkara was arguably the greatest cricketer Sri Lanka has ever produced. One of the legends of the game, the former left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman played for the national cricket team for close to 15 years.

He represented the team at the highest level in nearly 600 international games. Sangakkara was pretty good behind the stumps and holds the record for the most wicketkeeping dismissals (474) in ODI cricket. Sri Lankan legend is still the second-highest run-scorer in ODI cricket as he scored 14,234 runs. He is only behind Sachin Tendulkar where he scored 18,426 runs.

One of the greatest cricketers to have played for Sri Lanka, Sangakkara couldn’t win an ODI World Cup. He skippered the team during the 2011 World Cup that reached the final but lost to MS Dhoni-led team. Sangakkara played 37 games in World Cup where he scored 1532 runs with a batting average of 56.74, scoring 5 centuries and 7 fifties.

Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11Next page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button