Cricket News

IPL 2024: Devon Conway ruled out of the tournament, CSK announce replacement

Devon Conway was the third-leading run-getter in IPL 2023 season.

In what comes as a big blow to Chennai Super Kings in the ongoing IPL campaign, New Zealand opener Devon Conway has been ruled out of the tournament owing to an injury. The CSK’s star overseas signing was expected to join the CSK squad in the second half of IPL 2024.

However, that wasn’t meant to the case as he has been ruled out of the competition with a fracture to his left thumb. The Kiwi’s absence might inflict damage on CSK’s journey in the long run as he has been one of the most reliable batters in the last couple of seasons.

It is worth mentioning here that he was the leading run-scorer for CSK in the previous season. He amassed 672 runs at an exceptional batting average of 51.69 in the title-winning campaign. Conway who underwent a surgery in February has been recovering since then.

Read more: Irfan Pathan has his say on potential selection of Dinesh Karthik for T20 World Cup 2024

Richard Gleeson replaces Devon Conway for the rest of IPL 2024

The five-time IPL champions have recruited the services of Richard Gleeson as Devon Conway’s replacement for the remainder of the season. The defending champions signed England’s right-arm medium pacer for his base price of INR 50 lakhs.

CSK confirmed the development on their official X handle. They posted a picture of Richard Gleeson along with the caption which reads, “Welcoming with a Glee! Whistle Vanakkam, Richard!”.


“CSK have added Richard Gleeson to the squad for the remainder of the TATA IPL 2024. Gleeson has represented England in 6 T20Is and has 9 wickets against his name. Additionally, Gleeson has played 90 T20s and picked 101 T20 wickets,” the IPL said in a release.

Chennai Super Kings IPL 2024 squad (Updated)

Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni (wk), Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana, Nishant Sindhu, Mitchell Santner, Moeen Ali, Shaik Rasheed, Maheesh Theekshana, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Choudhary, Devon Conway, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, RS Hangargekar, Aravelly Avanish, Richard Gleeson.

Read more: India’s probable 20-man squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Reports

Back to top button