Top 5 Highest Successful Run Chase in IPL history

Highest successful run chase in IPL history
(Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Ever since the Indian Premier League came into existence, the popularity of T20 grew manyfold. The idea of seeing world-class players from different nations coming together and participating in a two-month-long tournament was once a dream. 

Every year, the fans witness some breathtaking games, which tend to go down to the wire. Over the years, the teams have put on some mammoth scores. On many occasions, these scores have been chased down as well. 


We all love watching high-scoring encounters, don’t we? Fortunately, the Indian Premier League has served those on many occasions.  

On that note, here’s a look at the top five successful run-chase in IPL: 

1. Rajasthan Royals – 223 vs Punjab Kings in 2020

Highest successful run chase in IPL history
(Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The ninth match of IPL 2020 took place between Rajasthan Royals and Punjab Kings at Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Given the smaller dimensions of the ground, a high-scoring game was on the cards. KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal put an exhibition of sixes in the first innings with the latter being the aggressor. Mayank Agarwal took the bowlers on a leather hunt as he smashed 10 fours and 7 sixes en-route to his 106 off 50 balls.

KL Rahul, on the other hand, played an anchor role, having scored 69 off 54 balls. The duo batted till the 16th over, before Agarwal departed in the 17th over. A heart-warming 8-ball 25-run cameo from Nicholas Pooran finished Punjab Kings at 223 for 2 in the first innings.  Sheldon Cottrel sent Jos Buttler back to the Pavillion in the second innings to add further misery to Rajasthan Royals.

However, what followed was a brilliant partnership between Steve Smith and Sanju Samson, who added 81 runs off 40 balls. Steve Smith got out after scoring a handful half-century but Samson took the match as deep as possible. Mohammad Shami finally sent the RR skipper back to the Pavillion after scoring 85 off 42 balls. Not many people would have placed their bet on RR to win the game after Samson’s wicket.


However, what followed was five sixes in the 18th over to turn the table in RR’s favour.  Rahul Tewatia smashed Sheldon Cottrell for five sixes in one over to take the game away from Punjab’s hands. It brought down the equation to 21 off the final 2 overs. Jofra Archer hit 2 sixes to tilt the game completely in RR’s favour. Sanju Samson and Co. eventually chased down the total in 19.3 overs making it the highest ever successful run chase in IPL history.

2. Mumbai Indians – 218 vs CSK in 2021

Mumbai Indians - 218 vs CSK in 2021
(Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings never fail to disappoint their fans whenever they take on each other in IPL. The 27th match of IPL 2021 was one of the highlights of this year’s IPL. Batting first, CSK posted a mammoth 218-run total in the first innings. Faf du Plessis and Moeen Ali set the foundation for a big total early in the innings, putting together a 108-run partnership for the second wicket.

Faf scored 50 off 28 balls, while Moeen Ali amassed 58 runs off 36 balls. Indian cricketer Ambati Rayudu produced an exhibition of sixes in the latter half of the innings, scoring 72 runs off just 27 balls and thereby helping CSK posted a huge 218-run total.  Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock gave a rollicking start to Mumbai Indians in the second innings, smashing 71 runs in 7.4 overs before Rohit Sharma got out off Shardul Thakur on 35 off 24 balls. 

Quinton de Kock scored 38 off 28 balls, while Krunal Pandya amassed 32 off 23 balls. Runs were flowing but CSK managed to take wickets at regular intervals. However, the Men in Yellow couldn’t stop Pollard, who produced a belter of a knock to guide his team home.  Kieron Pollard smashed 87 runs off 34 balls and chased down the total on the final ball of the match.

3. Rajasthan Royals – 214 vs Deccan Chargers in 2008

(Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

In the inaugural edition of IPL, Rajasthan Royals and Deccan Chargers produced a spectacle and left all the fans spellbound. Rajasthan Royals chased down a total of 214 runs, which remained as the highest total chased in IPL for 12 years. 

Andrew Symonds’s 117-run knock took Deccan Chargers to 214 in the first innings. The Australian cricketer wreaked havoc as the target seemed beyond RR’s reach. However, the fireworks didn’t stop in the second innings as Yusuf Pathan took the bowlers on a leather hunt. He scored 61 runs off just 28 balls, while Graeme Smith amassed scored 71. Rajasthan Royals, however, would still fell short had Shane Warne not produced a match-winning 22-run cameo of just 9 balls. Rajasthan Royals eventually chased down the total in 19.5 overs. 

4. Delhi Daredevils – 209 vs Gujarat Lions in 2017

Delhi Daredevils - 209 vs Gujarat Lions in 2017
(Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Riding on Suresh Raina (77) and Dinesh Karthik’s (65) sensational knocks, Gujarat Lions posted a mammoth 208-run total in the first innings. After the first two wickets for just 10 runs, Raina and Karthik led the recovery and added 133 runs for the third wicket before Raina got out. Finch also played a decent 27-run cameo to take Gujarat to a winning position. 

However, two youngsters in Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson took Gujarat’s bowling apart and ruined their hopes of earning a win. The duo stitched a 143-run partnership for the second wicket before Samson got out. Pant made 97 off just 43 balls, while Samson struck 61 off just 31 balls. Shreyas Iyer and Corey Anderson later guide the team home as Delhi chased down the total in just 17.3 balls. 

5. Kings XI Punjab – 206 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014

Kings XI Punjab - 206 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014
(Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

As many as 6 players scored 40-plus totals as the 42nd match of IPL 2014 between SRH and KXIP saw a run-fest. Batting first, Sunrisers Hyderabad notched a mammoth 205 in 20 overs. Naman Ojha was the scorer-in-chief, scoring an unbeaten 79 off 36 balls. David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan also made valuable contributions, scoring 44 and 45 respectively. 

In reply, Manan Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha gave Punjab a flying start. After Sehwag fell early, Vohra and Saha added 91 runs for the second wicket. It was followed by a destructive knock from Glenn Maxwell, who scored 43 off 22 balls. Vohra made 47 off 20 balls, while Saha scored 54 off 26 balls. 

George Bailey (35 off 19) and David Miller (24 off 24) remained unbeaten to guide the team home in just 18.4 overs. KXIP succeeded in registering one of the highest run chases in IPL.