10 highest powerplay scores in IPL history

KKR registered the highest-ever powerplay score in IPL history.

Image Credits: BCCI

The cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL) has become quite a gateway drug to the fans from every nook and corner of the cricket fraternity. Ever since its inception in 2008, the league’s popularity augmented to a great extent and it has completed 16 seasons.

One of the highlighting aspects in IPL is the powerplay overs, which is seen as a jackpot for the batsmen to have a go at the bowlers to cash in maximum runs as possible. Well, in the first six overs of an innings, there will be a mandatory powerplay.

In this regard, only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. As a result, it makes it quite easier for the batters to target the areas and play shots accordingly. The more the teams pile up runs in the powerplay overs, the better is the chances of posting huge totals.

In the history of the IPL, there have been several occasions where the teams gave the opponents a run for their money in the first six overs. Let’s now delve deep into the list of the ten highest scores recorded by the teams in powerplay overs.

Highest powerplay scores in the history of the IPL:

TeamRuns scored in Powerplay (first 6 overs)OppositionYear
Kolkata Knight Riders105/0Royal Challengers Bengaluru2017
Chennai Super Kings100/2Punjab Kings2014
Chennai Super Kings90/0Mumbai Indians2015
Kochi Tuskers Kerala (now-defunct)87/2Rajasthan Royals2011
Punjab Kings86/1Sunrisers Hyderabad2014
Kolkata Knight Riders85/0Royal Challengers Bengaluru2024
Rajasthan Royals85/1Sunrisers Hyderabad2023
Mumbai Indians84/0Delhi Capitals2018
Deccan Chargers (now-defunct)84/1Delhi Capitals2009
Punjab Kings83/1Royal Challengers Bengaluru2022
Sunrisers Hyderabad83/1Mumbai Indians2021

1. Kolkata Knight Riders – 105 runs vs RCB in 2017

KKR etched its name into the record books when they registered the highest-ever score in the powerplay overs. The two-time IPL champions piled up 105 runs without losing a wicket against RCB in 2017. Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine inflicted quite a lot of damage in the run-chase.

Batting first, RCB posted 158/6 in 20 overs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. In response, KKR got off to a lightning start, courtesy of 105-run liaison from Narine and Lynn who scored 54 and 50 runs respectively. Narine chipped in with a quickfire fifty off just 15 balls.


RCB tried to get back into the game by taking four wickets. However, KKR chased down the target without any fuss in 15.1 overs and won the game by six wickets. Narine was named the Man of the Match for his all-round performance – 54 (17) and 2/29.

2. Chennai Super Kings – 100 runs vs Kings XI Punjab in 2014

The five-time IPL champions follow next on the list as they registered the second-highest partnership in the powerplay overs. The Yellow Army compiled 100 runs for the loss of two wickets against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in IPL 2014.

Fans witnessed one heck of a run-fest as both teams gave absolutely everything. In the end, the Mohali-based franchise had the last laugh in the battle as they won the game by 24 runs. Batting first, KXIP posted 226/6 in 20 overs with the help of Virender Sehwag’s 122 (58).

In reply, Suresh Raina scored a chunk of runs in the run-chase by scoring at a rate of knots. He chipped in with a quickfire 87 off 25 balls before he was run-out in an unfortunate manner in Qualifier 2. Sehwag was named the Player of the Match for his masterclass.

Read More: Bowlers with most wickets in a single season of IPL

3. Chennai Super Kings – 90 runs vs Mumbai Indians in 2015

The Yellow brigade features on the list once again as they registered the third-highest score in the powerplay overs. They garnered 90 runs without losing a wicket in the first six overs, courtesy of impressive power-hitting from Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum in IPL 2015.

Batting first, Mumbai Indians posted 183/7 in 20 overs with the help of Kieron Pollard’s quickfire 64 off 30. Rohit Sharma looked good for his 50 off 31. Ashish Nehra was the wrecker-in-chief for CSK as he registered 3/23 in his quota of four overs.

In reply, CSK chased down the target with 20 balls to spare. The five-time IPL champions won the game by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Dwayne Smith top-scored with 62 off 30 (8 fours, 4 sixes). Nehra was adjudged the Man of the Match.

4. Kochi Tuskers Kerala – 87 runs vs Rajasthan Royals in 2011

For the record, Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) was an IPL franchise that played in the IPL for just one season in 2011. KTK registered the fourth-highest score in the powerplay overs and they managed to do so against Rajasthan Royals in the IPL

Batting first, RR were skittled out for 97, courtesy of Brad Hodge’s impressive 4/13 in 4 overs. KTK posted 87/2 in the powerplay overs and went on to win the game by 8 wickets. Brad Hodge was named the Man of the Match for his all-round show (33* off 17 and 4/13).

The Kerala-based franchise was terminated following the IPL 2011 season due to a dispute amongst the team owners as KTK failed to pay the 10% bank guarantee part of the franchise fee which was supposed to be settled ahead of the IPL 2011 edition.

Read More: Batters With Most Fours In IPL History

5. Punjab Kings – 86 runs vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014

Punjab Kings who are featured on this list once again registered the fifth-highest score in the powerplay overs. The Mohali-based franchise accumulated 86 runs for the loss of 1 wicket during the run-chase against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2014 season.

Batting first, SRH posted a huge total of 205/5 in their quota of 20 overs. Naman Ojha top-scored with 79* off 36 balls. On the other side of the coin, Punjab Kings had an early hic-cup as they lost Virender Sehwag for 4 runs.

Despite that, PBKS steadied the ship in the form of Manan Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha as the duo set a perfect tone in the run-chase. PBKS chased down the target in 18.4 overs and won the game by 6 wickets. Saha who scored 54 off 26 balls was named the Man of the Match.

Read More: Top 5 most expensive spells ever bowled in IPL history