Cricket Stats

Bowlers with most wickets in a single season of IPL

These bowlers were on a roll in those particular seasons.

There is a very famous quote in cricket that says, “Batters win you matches but Bowlers win you tournaments”. And to a large extent, this statement is true because if you look back upon the winning teams in the IPL you will see that the bowlers had a huge role to play.

In 2022, Gujarat Titans won because of their collective bowling performance, Rajasthan Royals reached the final because of Chahal’s heroics throughout the season. The 2021 season was won by CSK and Deepak Chahar played a huge role in it as he consistently took wickets in the powerplay for them. The duo of Bumrah and Boult ensured that Mumbai Indians lifted the trophy in the 2020 season.

We often underestimate bowlers in our game as pitches are made flat, grounds are small, there are many rules favouring batters more than bowlers, and bowlers are very often under-appreciated for their performance. But, they are a very integral part of our game and are the make or break of a team.

Here are the top 5 bowlers with most wickets in a single IPL season:

Harshal Patel202132
Dwayne Bravo201332
Kagiso Rabada202030
Lasith Malinga201128
James Faulkner201328

1. Harshal Patel – 32 Wickets

Harshal Patel had the time of his life in the 2021 season of IPL in the UAE. He was not just the Purple Cap winner but took 32 wickets in the season and now holds the joint-record with the legend Dwayne Bravo for most wickets in a single season of IPL. He also got his name “Purple Patel” after that season.

2. Dwayne Bravo – 32 Wickets

Bravo has been a legend in the IPL as he has played for CSK for the majority part of his IPL career. He has won the purple cap two times as well and holds the joint record for most wickets in a single season of the IPL with Harshal Patel. Bravo took 32 wickets in the 2013 season and his best figures in the season were 4/42.

3. Kagiso Rabada – 30 Wickets

The South African ace pacer, Kagiso Rabada, played a huge role in making Delhi Capitals reach the finals of the 2020 season of IPL. He had an exceptional season where he took 30 wickets in just 17 matches. Rabada won the purple cap also that season, making him the third South African to don the honour.


4. Lasith Malinga – 28 Wickets

Lasith Malinga, who is considered one of the best fast bowlers in the world, had a dream season in IPL in the year 2011. He took 28 wickets in the whole season at an economy rate of less than 6. He was absolutely spot-on with his lines and lengths that season and bowled deadly Yorkers as well.

5. James Faulkner – 28 Wickets

This Australian all-rounder was a part of the Rajasthan Royals franchise in the 2013 season of IPL where he bagged 28 wickets in the whole season. He bowled brilliantly back then and was one of the most difficult pacers to face.

Read More: Bowlers With Most Maiden Overs In IPL History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button