Cricket NewsIPL 2024

Suresh Raina picks 4 current CSK cricketers who can become next skipper after MS Dhoni

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Suresh Raina has been one of the backbones of the Chennai Super Kings cricket team. The southpaw carried the team on his shoulders for more than a decade and that too on a consistent basis. He was once the IPL’s leading run-scorer. As the seasons progressed, Raina was far from being impressive.

He failed to contribute to the team with the bat in the last season. He had the worst season of his IPL career as he scored 160 runs at an average of 17.77. Sadly, he was released by the franchise post the IPL 2021 season. For the first time in history, CSK didn’t retain Suresh Raina ahead of the auction.

When it was expected that CSK would go for Raina at the mega auction, surprisingly, they didn’t even show interest to sign him. Mr IPL went unsold at the auction. However, the good news is that he will announce his arrival in the next season in a different version altogether. Raina has signed up as a Hindi commentator for the next season.

Suresh Raina ignores Ruturaj Gaikwad

Suresh Raina will make his IPL commentary debut alongside former Indian head coach Ravi Shastri. Meanwhile, the former CSK batting great has picked four current CSK players who can take up the captaincy mantle from MS Dhoni in future.

Raina further added that experienced players like Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa and Dwayne Bravo are also in contention to take up the leadership duties at CSK. The former CSK player also reserved the highest respect for Ravindra Jadeja. CSK retained Jadeja for a record 16 crore ahead of the auction.

Raina feels Jadeja has a good cricketing brain while also adding that Jadeja decorated his resume with his all-round performance recently. “Rayudu is there then you have Robin Uthappa then DJ Bravo is there. Jadeja, I think, has a good cricketing brain and has been performing well recently,” said Raina.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button