Cricket News

Sunil Gavaskar reckons Glenn Maxwell should lead Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore are one of the three existing franchises that are yet to win a trophy in the Indian Premier League. They came close to winning the title not once but thrice. However, they failed to brave the odds and ended up losing all three finals.

They had a great chance to win the title in Virat Kohli’s last season as captain in IPL 2021 season. Although they managed to qualify for the playoffs, they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders in the knockout. A lot of major changes happened at the RCB camp after the IPL 2021 season.

Virat Kohli stepped down as captain and AB de Villiers parted ways with the franchise as he retired from all forms of the game. RCB team management retained Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj ahead of the mega auction.

Glenn Maxwell should lead Royal Challengers Bangalore: Sunil Gavaskar

RCB retained Kohli for INR 16 crore, Maxwell for INR 11 crore and Siraj for INR 7 crore. Maxwell had a breakthrough season in the last edition as he scored 513 runs in 15 games at an average of 42.75 including six half-centuries.

Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer, Sunil Gavaskar reckons that Glenn Maxwell should lead RCB in the next season. RCB also have a captaincy product in the form of Faf du Plessis for the next season. During an interview with Sports Tak, Gavaskar said Maxwell should lead RCB.

RCB chairman, Prthmesh Mishra said, “We are very pleased with the squad that we have assembled over the two days at the Tata IPL Mega Auction 2022. We were very clinical in our plans and have ensured players who have a fearless attitude and embody our philosophy of Play Bold to get on this journey with us and enjoy their stint at RCB playing their style of cricket. We look forward to an exciting season of cricket entertainment with these exceptional bunch of players.”


RCB squad:

Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj, Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat, David Willey, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sherfane Rutherford, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Siddharth Kaul, Jason Behrendorff, Karn Sharma, Suyash Prabhudesai, Chama Miling, Akash Deep, Aneeshwar Gautam, Luvnith Sisodia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button