Cricket News

Shaun Tait names his all-time ODI XI; no place for Vivian Richards

Shaun Tait placed MS Dhoni at No. 7.

Shaun Tait has represented the Australian cricket team across formats. He was one of the fastest bowlers during his heydays. At his best, he used to be one of history’s fastest pacers. He hogged the limelight when he clocked an extreme pace of 161.1 kph during an ODI game against England.

He plied his trade for Australia in 35 ODIs, 21 T20Is, and 3 Tests. The former cricketer went on to take as many as 95 international wickets. Tait picked up as many as 23 wickets during Australia’s World Cup triumph in 2007. Shaun was also a vital part of the Australian squad that ended runner-up at the 2010 T20 World Cup.


He is a level-two certified coach from Cricket Australia. In fact, he has even coached Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League (BBL). Recently, Afghanistan Cricket Board have roped in Shaun Tait as their national team’s bowling coach with immediate effect.

Shaun Tait names his all-time ODI XI

Former Australian fast bowler Shaun Tait made the headlines recently when he picked his all-time ODI XI. Interestingly, the former Aussie international named as many as four Indians in his XI. He went on to pick four Aussies as well. After that, he named two from Pakistan and one from West Indies.


Tait picked the likes of Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli in his XI. The 38-year-old. The 38-year-old named Adam Gilchrist and Virender Sehwag as openers. “Opening the batting, I am going to go with Adam Gilchrist and (Virender) Sehwag. I like aggressiveness at the top of the order,” Tait explained while speaking to Sportskeeda.

Tait excluded West Indies legend Vivian Richards from the middle-order and also explained the reason behind it. He went with Ricky Ponting. “Batting at No. 3, I didn’t see a lot of Viv Richards, so don’t know if I can pick him, so I’ll have to go with Ricky Ponting,” he added.


Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni follow next on the list. “No. 4 would be Sachin Tendulkar and No. 5 is Brian Lara. Can Virat Kohli bat at No. 6, is that fine? I am going to squeeze in MS Dhoni at No. 7,” he added.

Afghanistan’s bowling coach picked three pacers and a spinner. The pacers are none other than Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath and Shoaib Akhtar. “In the bowling, I have got Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath and I am going to put Shoaib Akhtar in there,” Shaun Tait concluded.

Shaun Tait’s all-time ODI playing XI:

Adam Gilchrist, Virender Sehwag, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button