Cricket News

Shakib Al Hasan names his all-time IPL XI; no place for Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers

Shakib Al Hasan picked MS Dhoni as captain of his side.

Indian Premier League served as the perfect platform for the youngsters to showcase their mettle. India’s very own franchise cricket has produced so many talents over the years. The youngsters are feeling safe and secure as they are backed and guided by the senior cricketers and mentors.

IPL came into existence in 2008 and since then it has become a big hit. Several players made a name for themselves in the world’s most-watched T20 tournament. Meanwhile, former Bangladeshi captain Shakib Al Hasan named his all-time IPL XI.

Bangladeshi all-rounder excluded big names like Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers during an interaction with Sportskeeda. Shakib included only three overseas players namely David Warner, Ben Stokes and Lasith Malinga. The 34-year-old named MS Dhoni as the skipper of his all-time IPL XI.

Shakib Al Hasan was a crucial part of Kolkata Knight Riders’ title-winning campaigns in 2012 and 2014. He missed out on naming four other T20 specialists. They are none other than Andre Russell, Shane Watson, Rashid Khan and Sunil Narine respectively.

Shakib Al Hasan names star-studded IPL XI

The star-studded IPL XI comprises big names like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, David Warner and MS Dhoni. Shakib picked Rohit and Warner as the opening pair. Meanwhile, Kohli, Raina and Dhoni were slotted at No.3, 4 and 5. Surprisingly, KL Rahul has been placed at the No.6 position.

The Bangladeshi stalwart named Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar as the pacers with Ben Stokes and Ravindra Jadeja occupying the all-rounders’ slots.


The 34-year-old KKR all-rounder is currently preparing for the second leg of the IPL 2021 in UAE, starting from Sunday, September 19. The two-time IPL champions will lock horns with Royal Challengers Bangalore on September 20 in Abu Dhabi.

Shakib Al Hasan’s all-time IPL XI:

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain and wicket-keeper), KL Rahul, Ben Stokes, Ravindra Jadeja, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button