Cricket Stats

KKR vs GT Head-to-Head record in the history of IPL

The competition is still to go far.

Kolkata Knight Riders are the third-most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League with two trophies. Notably, the KKR franchise gained immense popularity owing to its association with celebrity owners such as Shah Rukh Khan and Juhi Chawla. KKR qualified for the IPL playoffs for the first time in IPL 2011 season.

In the subsequent season, they became the IPL champions by defeating MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings in the final. In the IPL 2014 edition, the Knight Riders repeated the same achievement by defeating Kings XI Punjab (Punjab Kings) in the final. Notably, they won both trophies under the astute captaincy of Gautam Gambhir.

It is worth mentioning that Kolkata Knight Riders hold the record for the longest winning streak by any Indian team in the shortest format of the game (14). On the other side of the coin, Gujarat Titans announced themselves in the IPL in the previous edition. The Ahmedabad-based franchise performed incredibly well as a team under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya and under the guidance of Ashish Nehra.

They finished the league stage as the table-toppers and ended up with 20 points and were the only team to win 10 games out of 14 league stage fixtures. With all their bases covered, Gujarat Titans made it all the way to the finals of the competition in the fifteenth edition. Notably, they even got the better of Rajasthan Royals in the final. Rightly so, they won their maiden IPL title in their debut season.

KKR vs GT Head-to-Head Stats

PlayedWon by KKRWon by GTTieNo Result

Kolkata Knight Riders and Gujarat Titans have locked horns with each other on two occasions in the IPL. Both teams took turns, beating the other so far in the competition. Gujarat Titans won the first meeting against KKR as they won the game by eight runs.

On the other hand, KKR famously scripted a miraculous win over GT in the second meeting. Rinku Singh starred in the run-chase by smashing five consecutive sixes when the team required 28 runs off the last five balls as KKR beat GT by 3 wickets.


Read More: CSK vs KKR Head-to-Head record in the history of IPL

KKR vs GT All-time Stats and Results

DateWinnerWon ByVenue
9-April-2023Kolkata Knight Riders3 WicketsAhmedabad
23-April-2022Gujarat Titans8 RunsNavi Mumbai

Read More: MI vs GT Head-to-Head record in the history of the IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button