CSK vs KKR Head-to-Head record in the history of IPL

The two teams also met in finals twice.

CSK vs KKR. (Image Credits: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have produced some high-scoring encounters and closely-fought battles in the history of the Indian Premier League. In fact, they are two of the most successful teams in India’s premier T20 competition. Chennai Super Kings have won four honours under the astute captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title in the 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2020 seasons respectively. On the other end of the spectrum, Kolkata Knight Riders have won two titles in IPL 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. Chennai Super Kings are the only team that made it to the finals of the competition on nine occasions, winning four of the high-voltage encounters.

Besides that, CSK are the only team that has qualified for the playoffs in most of their participating seasons, which goes to show their consistency levels. On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders made it to the finals on three occasions and managed to clinch two of the high-voltage encounters. CSK beat Mumbai Indians in the 2010 final to win their first title.

They won their second title by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2011. CSK won their third title by getting the better of Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018 season. Later on, they beat KKR in IPL 2020 final to win their fourth title. On the other hand, KKR won their first IPL title by beating CSK in the IPL 2012 final. The Knight Riders beat Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) to win their second title.

CSK vs KKR: Head-to-Head

Matches Played29
CSK Won18
KKR Won10
No Result1

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have locked horns with each other on 29 occasions in the history of the IPL. Out of those meetings, CSK have the cutting edge over KKR as they have won a total of 18 games whereas KKR won 10 games and the other game ended in the form of no result.

Read More: CSK vs SRH Head-to-Head record in the history of IPL


CSK vs KKR: All-Season Stat

26-Mar-20222022 IPLMumbaiKKR6 Wickets
15-Oct-20212021 IPLDubaiCSK27 Runs
26-Sep-20212021 IPLAbu DhabiCSK2 Wickets
21-Apr-20212021 IPLMumbaiCSK18 Runs
29-Oct-20202020 IPLDubaiCSK6 Wickets
7-Oct-20202020 IPLAbu DhabiKKR10 Runs
14-Apr-20192019 IPLKolkataCSK5 Wickets
9-Apr-20192019 IPLChennaiCSK7 Wickets
3-May-20182018 IPLKolkataKKR6 wickets
10-Apr-20182018 IPLChennaiCSK5 wickets
29-Apr-20152015 IPLKolkataKKR7 wickets
27-Apr-20152015 IPLChennaiCSK2 runs
3-Oct-20142014 CLT20Bangalore*CSK8 wickets
16-Sep-20142014 CLT20Hyderabad*KKR3 wickets
19-May-20142014 IPLRanchiCSK34 runs
1-May-20142014 IPLKolkataKKR8 wickets
27-Apr-20132013 IPLKolkataCSK4 wickets
19-Apr-20132013 IPLChennaiCSK14 runs
26-May-20122012 IPLChennaiKKR5 wickets
13-May-20122012 IPLKolkataCSK5 wickets
29-Apr-20122012 IPLChennaiKKR5 wickets
6-May-20112011 IPLChennaiCSK2 runs
7-Apr-20112011 IPLKolkataKKR10 runs
12-Apr-20102010 IPLKolkataCSK55 runs
15-Mar-20102010 IPLChennaiCSK9 wickets
17-May-20092009 IPLCape Town
24-Apr-20092009 IPLCenturionKKR7 wickets
17-May-20082008 IPLChennaiCSK9 wickets
25-Apr-20082008 IPLKolkataCSK3 runs

Read More: MI vs KKR Head-to-Head record in the history of IPL