Cricket Stats

MI vs GT Head-to-Head record in the history of the IPL

The teams have not faced each other sufficient times.

Mumbai Indians lived up to the expectations of the fans in the majority of the seasons of the Indian Premier League. When they were inducted into the IPL, they didn’t win any title from IPL 2008 to IPL 2012. They reached their first-ever IPL final in the 2010 edition. However, they surrendered at the hands of Chennai Super Kings in the final showdown.

Ever since Rohit Sharma took charge as the skipper of the MI franchise, the team performed exceptionally well and reached the finals of the competition. Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2013 final to win their first-ever title. Although Mumbai Indians failed to defend the title, they made a stellar rebound in the 2015 season.

Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings once again in the final to win their second IPL title. Mumbai Indians won their third title by beating Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL 2017 final. As far as the 2019 edition is concerned, Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals in the final and won their fourth title. Rohit Sharma and Co beat Chennai Super Kings in the final for the third time to win their fifth title.

On the contrary, Gujarat Titans were newly inducted into the Indian Premier League in the 2022 edition. Under the coaching of Ashish Nehra and under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya, the Ahmedabad-based franchise made it all the way to the finals of the competition. Gujarat Titans got the better of Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2022 final to win their maiden IPL trophy in their debut season.

MI vs GT Head-to-Head Stats:-

PlayedGT WonMI WonTieNo Result

Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Titans locked horns with each other only once in the tournament. Their one-off meeting came during the IPL 2022 season. Mumbai Indians got the better of Gujarat Titans by five runs at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Thus, Mumbai Indians became the only team so far to defend the total against Gujarat Titans. Batting first, MI posted 177/6 in 20 overs with the help of Ishan Kishan (45), Tim David (44*) and Rohit Sharma (43). In response, GT ended up with 172/5 in 20 overs. Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill scored 55 and 52 runs respectively.


MI vs GT Head-to-Head Stats and Results:-

DateWinnerWon byVenue
06 May 2022Mumbai Indians5 runsBrabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Read More: MI vs PBKS Head-to-Head record in the history of IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button