Cricket News

Harbhajan Singh picks India’s 15-man squad for T20 World Cup 2024, ignores Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya

KL Rahul finds no place in Harbhajan Singh's 15-man squad for T20 World Cup.

Former Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh made the headlines after he picked his India’s playing 11 for T20 World Cup 2024. The marquee event is scheduled to be played in the West Indies and the United States of America (June 1 to June 29).

Team India won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup by beating Pakistan in the showdown. However, since then, they failed to make a bid for the second title. The last time India came close to winning the second title was back in 2014 but lost to Sri Lanka in the final.

As of now, the IPL is being played in India. After the end of this event, the ICC event will kick off and the national selectors of the respective teams will have to figure out picking the best squad. Meanwhile, Harbhajan has ignored Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya in his playing XI.

As far as the Harbhajan Singh’s top order is concerned, skipper Rohit Sharma will open the innings alongside Yashasvi Jaiswal. Virat Kohli will bat at one down whereas Suryakumar Yadav has been slotted at No.4.

Read more: Virender Sehwag picks India’s playing XI for T20 World Cup 2024, ignores Hardik Pandya

Sanju Samson finds place in Harbhajan Singh’s 15-man squad

The Turbanator picked Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson as the wicketkeeper-batters in the squad. Rishabh Pant who made a comeback to competitive cricket after a career-threatening accident is just starting to get the hang of things.


Sanju Samson has been in impressive form in the ongoing IPL and Harbhajan Singh rates him highly as well. Rinku Singh hasn’t quite been able to switch gears in IPL 2024 so far. Despite his current form, the former off-spinner still picked him.

Shivam Dube who has been in the form of his life for CSK this season finds his place in the squad. Furthermore, the former cricketer has gone with experienced and three-dimensional player, Ravindra Jadeja followed by spin duo Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

India’s pace battery looks so promising with the likes of Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Jasprit Bumrah and Mayank Yadav. Jasprit Bumrah will be leading the bowling attack by example. Harbhajan also finds Mayank Yadav as an interesting prospect. He bowled the fastest ball of IPL 2024 at 156.7 kmph against RCB.

Harbhajan Singh picks India’s squad for T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mayank Yadav

Read more: IPL 2024: Matthew Hayden picks the cleanest hitter in the world

Back to top button