Cricket News

Virender Sehwag picks India’s playing XI for T20 World Cup 2024, ignores Hardik Pandya

Virender Sehwag ignores Hardik Pandya in India's playing XI for T20 World Cup.

The BCCI selectors will be announcing India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2024 anytime soon. Recently, the ICC set May 1 as the deadline for all teams to submit their squads for the marquee event and as per reports, BCCI will announce the squad on April 27 or 28.

Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer, Virender Sehwag has picked India’s playing XI for T20 World Cup 2024. The main event is slated to be played in the Caribbean islands and the United States of America from June 1 to June 29.

It is no doubt that the Indian players will be picked based on their recent performances in the shortest format. The youngsters who are currently part of the IPL have been firing the cylinders so much to impress the national selectors.

The Nawab of Najafgarh has ignored Hardik Pandya in the playing XI. However, he feels that the all-rounder will make it to the 15-man squad. Ever since donning the captaincy hat at Mumbai Indians, Hardik Pandya failed to tick the boxes across aspects of the game.

He came under fire for his poor leadership, dismal batting and bowling performances. According to Sehwag, Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal will open the proceedings. On the other hand, Virat Kohli will take the No.3 spot.

Read more: Sanju Samson should be groomed as next T20 captain for India: Harbhajan Singh


Shivam Dube or Rinku Singh will play the finisher’s role: Virender Sehwag

Suryakumar Yadav has been slotted at No.4 slot as usual. Rishabh Pant has been picked as a wicketkeeper-batsman at No.5. According to Sehwag, Rinku Singh or Shivam Dube could play the role of a finisher for India in the T20 World Cup.

While Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube are known for their finishing abilities, Dube slightly hold an edge over Rinku, taking the current form factor into account. Furthermore, Sehwag picked Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav in the spin bowling unit. Last but not least, Sehwag went on to name Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Sandeep Sharma in the pace bowling battery.

Virender Sehwag picks his India’s playing XI for T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Rinku Singh/Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Sandeep Sharma

Read more: Suresh Raina backs Shivam Dube’s inclusion in India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Back to top button