Cricket News

Harbhajan Singh ignores MS Dhoni and picks Kumar Sangakkara in his all-time Test XI

Harbhajan Singh retired from all forms of cricket on December 24. The veteran brought the curtain down on a spectacular 23-year-long-career. He played for Team India across formats and he was quite successful in the longest format of the game. He played 103 Tests, 236 ODIs and 28 T20Is for India.

The 41-year-old took 417 wickets in red-ball cricket, 269 wickets in the 50-over format and 25 wickets in the shortest format of the game. He accounted for 25 five-wicket hauls in Test cricket and 3 five-wicket hauls in ODIs. The former spinner took 16 four-wicket hauls in Tests, 2 four-wicket hauls in ODIs and a solitary four-wicket haul in T20Is.

The Jalandhar-born is currently India’s fourth-leading wicket-taker in Test cricket. He also scored 2 centuries and 9 fifties in Test cricket where he registered his best score of 115 against New Zealand. Meanwhile, the former Indian off-spinner named his all-time Test XI, while talking to Sportskeeda.

Harbhajan Singh names his all-time Test XI

Surprisingly, MS Dhoni didn’t find a place in Harbhajan’s all-time Test XI. The veteran picked Alastair Cook and Virender Sehwag as the openers of his all-time Test XI. West Indies legend Brian Lara and Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar come in at No.3 and No.4 respectively.

Harbhajan named Steve Waugh as the captain of the team while also naming him at No.5. Jacques Kallis, who is widely recognized as one of the best all-rounders in his playing days was slotted at No.6. Harbhajan ignored MS Dhoni and went ahead with Kumar Sangakkara at the wicket-keeping slot.

He also picked a lone spinner in his team and he is none other than Shane Warne. After that, he signed off by picking three fast bowlers namely Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath and James Anderson. Last but not least, he picked Test legend Muttiah Muralitharan as the 12th man. Apart from James Anderson, all others whom Harbhajan picked have retired from the sport.


Harbhajan Singh’s all-time Test XI:

Alastair Cook, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar, Steve Waugh (c), Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, James Anderson, Muttiah Muralitharan (12th man).

Also Read: Watch: Ollie Davies smacks a scintillating six off Rashid Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button