Cricket News

Chief selector Chetan Sharma reveals the reason behind dropping Yuzvendra Chahal

Yuzvendra Chahal has 63 wickets in T20Is for India.

The Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India have announced the 15-man squad for the upcoming edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The marquee event will go all guns blazing from October 17 onwards. However, a certain section of the supporters were unhappy with the team selection.

The Indian selection committee has often surprised the cricket fraternity by dropping key players in the squad for marquee events. It has been the case over the years. However, they will take consider certain factors before selecting the right players for the tournament.

This time around, they missed out on selecting India’s experienced leggie, Yuzvendra Chahal. The leg-spinner has represented India in 49 T20Is where he took as many as 63 wickets to his name. Apart from Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav was also omitted from the squad.

Chetan Sharma reveals why Yuzvendra Chahal was ignored

Chetan Sharma-led selection committee went with spinners namely Rahul Chahar, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy apart from all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. While several fans were unhappy with the selection committee for ignoring Chahal, chief selector Chetan Sharma during a virtual press meet on September 8 revealed the reason behind dropping Chahal.

“Spinners who bowl quick was our priority. Hence, we went with Rahul Chahar,” he added. He also admitted that Varun Chakravarthy is a “surprise package as a mystery bowler.”

Meanwhile, the BCCI pulled off a masterclass move by recruiting former Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the team mentor. “I spoke with my colleagues – captain, vice-captain – we all were on the same page and spoke to Dhoni. He has agreed to be a part of the team management for the T20 World Cup only,” informer Board Secretary Jay Shah.


Chetan Sharma came up with a recent update regarding Hardik Pandya’s fitness. It’s been a year now since Hardik Pandya stayed away from bowling due to his back injury. “Hardik Pandya is going to bowl his quota of overs in every match,” the chief selector told the reporters on September 8.

India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button