Cricket News

T20 World Cup 2021: ICC announces prize money for winners; informs new change in drinks interval

The tournament will have DRS for the very first time.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in the UAE and Oman respectively. The tournament goes all guns blazing from October 17 onwards. The tournament will come to an end on November 14.

Meanwhile, in the latest development, the marquee event will have two 2-minute-30 seconds drinks break in every game. The break is expected to be taken at the midpoint of each innings. The ICC confirmed the development via press release on October 10.

The ICC also announced the prize money details for the winners of the tournament. The winners of the tournament will be rewarded $1.6 million while the runners up will get half that amount.

ICC announces new changes via official press release

“All 16 competing teams will receive part of the US $5.6m allocated as prize money for the tournament,” the official release confirmed. “The two losing semi-finalists will receive $400,000 each from the games taking place on 10 and 11 November. The four teams knocked out in the first round will take $40,000 each from an overall $ 160,000.”

The opening round of the tournament will go all guns blazing from October 17. On the other hand, the group stage games will start on October 23. As many as 8 teams will compete with the first round including automatic qualifiers namely Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who secured their place through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.

Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia will join Sri Lanka in Group A. On the other hand, Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B. The teams confirmed to be competing in the Super 12 stage are Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies.


Interestingly, this is the first time when the Men’s T20 World Cup will have the usage of the Decision Review System (DRS). The third umpire may come into play in the association with the decision of the on-field umpires (Umpire Review or a Player Review).

Meanwhile, the venues for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 are none other than Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button