South Africa announce 21-member squad for India Tests

South Africa

Duanne Olivier made a return to South Africa’s Test after almost three years when he was named in the 21-member squad for the upcoming Tests series against India.  The squad includes two debutants fast bowler Sisanda Magala and top-order batsman Ryan Rickelton.

Olivier, who has played ten Tests since his debut in 2017, returned to South Africa earlier this year after a stint as a Kolpak player and has been in red hot form this season. In the four first-class matches in 4-Day Franchise series, the pacer has bagged 28 wickets at an average of 11.14 with the best figures of 9 for 95.

The rest of the group is largely the same as the one that toured West Indies in June, which is when South Africa last played Test cricket.

South Africa have gone in with a pace heavy attack with Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje expected to lead the unit alongside Lungi Ngidi, who is likely to be the third seamer after recovering from COVID-19. Two left-armers in Marco Jansen and Beuran Hendricks, and two right-arm options in Stuurman and Magala are also in the squad.

This is South Africa’s first series in the 2021-2023 cycle of the World Test Championship, and first series at home since they hosted Sri Lanka over the festive period last summer.

The first Test will be played in Centurion while the next two matches will be played in Johannesburg and Cape Town. The series will be followed by three ODI from January 19.


South Africa squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.