Cricket News

Road Safety World Series 2021: All you need to know about the tournament

In good news for the cricket fans all across the world, the Unacademy World Safety Series is all set to go all guns blazing from March 5 onwards. The all-important tournament is less than a week away from keeping the viewers at the edge of their seats.

It should be noted that the 2020 season was cancelled owing to the coronavirus pandemic last year. Only four games were staged last year. In a fresh development, it is said that all the remaining fixtures will be played at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur.

The Road Safety World Series will feature many legends which will see Sachin Tendulkar, Jonty Rhodes, Brian Lara and Virender Sehwag taking part in the tournament. Their return will be an absolute treat to the spectators in India. The highly-anticipated tournament will see as many as six teams this time around.

Indian Legends, South Africa Legends, Sri Lanka Legends, West Indies Legends, Bangladesh Legends and England Legends will battle it among themselves to win the competition. The tournament opener will be between India Legends and Bangladesh Legends on March 5 (Friday).

It will be quite interesting to see how this tourney pans out. Indian fans will get to watch the legendary Sachin Tendulkar in action after quite a long time. For sure, India Legends are the favourites to win the match against Bangladesh Legends.

Full squads of all six teams:

South Africa Legends: Morne Van Wyk, Garnett Kruger, Roger Telemachus, Jonty Rhodes, Justin Kemp, Makhaya Ntini, Nicky Boje, Andrew Puttick, Monde Zondeki, Alviro Petersen, Loots Bosman, Llyod Norris Jones, Zander de Bruyn, Thandi Tshabalala,


West Indies Legends: Brian Lara, Pedro Collins, William Perkins, Adam Sanford, Ridley Jacobs, Tino Best, Sulieman Benn, Narsingh Deonarine, Dinanath Ramnarine, Dwayne Smith, Carl Hooper, Ryan Austin, Mahendra Nagamootoo.

Sri Lanka Legends: Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Manjula Prasad, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Dammika Prasad, Chamara Kapugedra, Tillakratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Rangana Herath, Dulanjana Wijesinghe, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Farveez Maharoof, Sanath Jayasuriya, Ajantha Mendis, Malinda Warnapura

Bangladesh Legends: Khaled Mahmud, Nafees Iqbal, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Khaled Mashud, Hannan Sarker, Javed Omar, Rajin Saleh, Mehrab Hossain, Aftab Ahmed, Alamgir Kabir, Mohammed Sharif, Mushfiqur Rahman, A N M Mamun Ur Rashed

India Legends: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Noel David, Mohammed Kaif, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Manpreet Gony, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Naman Ojha

England Legends: Kevin Pietersen, Philip Mustard, Owais Shah, Monty Panesar, Nick Compton, Kabir Ali, Chris Schoefield, Sajid Mahmood, James Tredwell, Matthew Hoggard, Jonathan Trott, Ryan Sidebottom, Usman Afzaal, Chris Tremlett, James Tindall

Timings: 7:00 PM IST

Road Safety World Series 2021 schedule:

March 5, India Legends vs. Bangladesh Legends

March 6, Sri Lanka Legends vs. West Indies Legends

March 7, England Legends vs. Bangladesh Legends

March 8, South Africa Legends vs. Sri Lanka Legends

March 9, India Legends vs. England Legends

March 10, Bangladesh Legends vs. Sri Lanka Legends

March 11, England Legends vs. South Africa Legends

March 12, Bangladesh Legends vs. West Indies Legends

March 13, India Legends vs. South Africa Legends

March 14, Sri Lanka Legends vs. England Legends

March 15, South Africa Legends vs. Bangladesh Legends

March 16, England Legends vs. West Indies Legends

March 17, Semifinal 1

March 18, Semifinal 2

March 21, Road Safety World Series 2021 Final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button