Cricket Stats

Most Man of the Match in IPL history

The Man of the Match Awards is rewarded to the best player of a particular match.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most toughest T20 leagues across the globe. All the participants try their level best to showcase their best level of the game. The name with the most impactful performance in a particular match is awarded Man of the Match award as a gesture of appreciation.

Although there are infinite ways to evaluate one’s contribution, the number of Player of the Match awards won by a cricketer can somewhat give a clear picture of his/her performances. After all, one can’t be the standout performer every other day. Hence, in this article, we will a take a look at the players who won the Man of the Match award for the most times in IPL history.

Most Player of the Match Awards in the IPL:

PlayerNumber of Man of the Match Awards
AB de Villiers25
Chris Gayle22
Rohit Sharma19
David Warner18
MSM Dhoni17

1. AB de Villiers – 25 times

AB de Villiers has won the most Player of the Match awards in IPL history with 25 to his name in 184 matches. Unfortunately, he won’t be adding anymore as he has already retired from the game. But none can forget his contributions for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) over the years.

2. Chris Gayle – 22 times

Another opener that makes onto the list is arguably the greatest T20 batter, Chris Gayle. His striking ability is unmatchable and no boundary is too far when he is in rhyme. Although he didn’t score runs consistently but whenever he did, it was enough to make a difference between the two sides.

3. Rohit Sharma – 19 times

Indian opener Rohit Sharma is one of the leading run-scorers in the tournament’s history. On his day, he can dismantle any bowling line-up at any ground. Said so, he is a clean match-winner on his day and is a threat to his opponents. As a reason, he has bagged the award 19 times in his IPL career so far.

4) David Warner – 18 times

Australian opener David Warner has been an absolute match-winner for his sides in the IPL. His consistency with the bat is remarkable and power-hitting is as good as any other batter. He has clinched 18 Man of the Match awards so far and is likely to add many more in the upcoming seasons.


5) MS Dhoni – 17 times

The skipper of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), MS Dhoni, won the Player of the Match award 17 times in the IPL so far. Despite batting down the order, he leaves a stamp on the match with his performance. The right-handed batter has scored over 5000 runs and is counting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button