Cricket News

Manan Sharma retires from all cricket in India; set to play for the USA

Manan Sharma played for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2016 season.

Several cricketers have preferred flying to the United States of America in order to continue playing the game they truly love the most. We have seen players warming the bench and they don’t easily break into the national playing XI due to some stiff competition already.

But cricketers are smart enough to decide their future now. They are willing to play for the USA in the hope that they would get more playing time. The USA are offering golden opportunities for cricketers to express themselves.

As we all know, the USA are doing good in other sports, they are also looking forward to making cricket popular in the country. It is precisely the reason why they are encouraging cricketers to join them. New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson is now playing for the United States of America.

Following him, many players started to join the USA as well. Earlier, the International Cricket Council wanted cricket to take part in Olympics in 2028, where Los Angeles will be hosting the Olympics. Recently, Unmukt Chand retired from all forms of cricket in India only to play cricket in the USA.

Manan Sharma to play for the USA

In the latest development from India, another cricketer, Manan Sharma, bid adieu to all cricket in India. The 30-year-old all-rounder has been plying his trade for Delhi in the domestic cricket circuit. He also played for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2016 season.

Manan Sharma is the son of former Indian cricketer Ajay Sharma. Manan Sharma represented Delhi in over 100 games (First Class, List A, and T20 games). The all-rounder played 35 first-class matches and essayed 1208 runs and took as many as 113 wickets. Meanwhile, the reports say that he is looking forward to playing the sport in the US.


In case you didn’t know, Manan Sharma played with players like Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Ishant Sharma, and Rishabh Pant. He also represented India Under-19 cricket team at the 2010 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup. The team was comprised of cricketers like KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Sandeep Sharma, and Jaydev Unadkat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button