Cricket Analysis

10 lowest totals defended by teams in IPL history

Chennai Super Kings hold the record for defending the lowest total in the IPL history.

The Indian Premier League has witnessed scores of encounters that are as nutty as a fruitcake so much that it kept the fans on the edge of their seats till the climax. The cricket fraternity has witnessed nail-biters, last-ball thrillers, run-fest and low-scoring thrillers.

In all these scenarios, defending a low-scoring total is quite a challenge for the teams as they require key strategies to get the job done especially in a high-stakes, fast-paced tournament like the IPL.

It is no secret that taking early wickets is absolutely imperative when defending a low total. When the bowlers get rid of the top-order batsmen early on in the game, then it puts immense pressure on the chasing team, thus it triggers a batting collapse.

Over the years, the teams have been able to defend low totals, thanks to their aggressive field set, which helped them create and maintain psychological pressure on the chasing side. Let’s now take a glimpse at the lowest totals defended by teams in IPL history.

10 lowest total defended by IPL teams

1Chennai Super Kings116/9Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings)CSK Won by 24 Runs20 May 2009
2Sunrisers Hyderabad118Mumbai IndiansSRH Won by 31 Runs24 April 2018
3Kings XI Punjab119/8Mumbai IndiansKXIP Won by 24 Runs20 April 2009
4Sunrisers Hyderabad119/8Pune Warriors (now defunct)SRH Won by 11 Runs17 April 2013
5Mumbai Indians120/9Pune Warriors (now defunct)MI Won by 1 Run3 May 2012
6Punjab Kings125/7Sunrisers HyderabadPBKS Won by 5 Runs25 September 2021
7Royal Challengers Bengaluru126/8Chennai Super KingsRCB Won by 14 Runs21 May 2008
8Sunrisers Hyderabad126/6Pune Warriors (now defunct)SRH Won by 22 Runs5 April 2013
9Kings XI Punjab126/7Sunrisers HyderabadKXIP Won by 12 Runs24 October 2020
10Royal Challengers Bengaluru126/9Lucknow Super GiantsRCB Won by 18 Runs1 May 2023

1. Chennai Super Kings – 116/9 vs Kings XI Punjab in 2009

The five-time IPL champions can take pride in the fact that they defended the lowest-ever total in the history of the tournament, a record that still remains intact. They managed to achieve the feat against Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2009 in Durban.

Batting first, CSK managed to muster just 116/9 in their quota of 20 overs. Parthiv Patel top-scored with 32 off 23 balls, laced with 4 fours and a six. In reply, the Mohali-based franchise succumbed to 92/8, courtesy of the persistence shown by CSK bowlers.


Muttiah Muralitharan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina and Thilan Thushara took two wickets apiece. Muralitharan was adjudged the Man of the Match for registering 2/8 at an impressive economy of 2 in his quota of 4 overs.

Read more: 10 highest powerplay scores in IPL history

2. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 118 vs Mumbai Indians in 2018

Sunrisers Hyderabad once silenced the Mumbai crowd by pulling off a memorable win at the Wankhede Stadium in the IPL 2018 season. When the Orange Army were bowled out for 118 runs, MI were the favourites to chase down the target at their fortress.

Nevertheless, it wasn’t meant to the case as SRH bowlers stuck to their subtle bowling variations of tight line and lengths so much that they kept mounting pressure on the MI batters and contained runs throughout the game.

All the SRH bowlers chipped in with disciplinary bowling performances to get the job done as they bowled out the hosts for 87 to win the game by 31 runs. Rashid Khan who registered 2/11 in his quota of 4 overs was named the Man of the Match.

3. Kings XI Punjab – 119/8 vs Mumbai Indians in 2009

In IPL 2009 season, Kings XI Punjab snatched the victory from the jaws of defeat over Mumbai Indians in Durban. Batting first, the Mohali-based franchise managed to post 119/8 in their allotted quota of 20 overs.

Kumar Sangakkara top-scored with an unbeaten 45 for KXIP whereas Lasith Malinga was the pick of the bowlers for MI as he registered 2/12 in his quota of 4 overs. In reply, MI failed to get off to a good start, which saw them losing control in the chase.

JP Duminy chipped in with 59 but unfortunately, he didn’t get support from the others as MI ended up at 116/7 and lost the game by a whisker of 3 runs. Yusuf Abdulla registered 2/19 in 4 overs for KXIP. Kumar Sangakkara was named the Man of the Match.

4. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 119/8 vs Pune Warriors in 2013

SRH batters failed to operate on a high level as they ended up falling prey to Pune Warriors’ bowlers. Bhuvneshwar Kumar who once represented the now-defunct franchise kept SRH batters in check as he registered 3/18 in his quota of 4 overs.

Biplab Samantray and Amit Mishra scored 37 and 30 runs respectively for SRH. Despite restricting the Orange Army to a low total, Pune Warriors failed to seal the deal as they messed up the plot in the run-chase at home. Pune Warriors were skittled out for 108.

Amit Mishra who contributed with the bat upped the ante with the ball by accounting for 4 dismissals. He registered 4/19 in four overs whereas Thisara Perera registered 3/20. Mishra was named the Man of the Match for his all-round performance.

5. Mumbai Indians – 120/9 vs Pune Warriors in 2012

Lasith Malinga played a substantial role in MI’s thriller win over Pune Warriors in IPL 2012 in Pune. He scored crucial 14 runs with the bat as a tail-ender while also weaving the magic with the ball by registering 2/25 in his quota of 4 overs.

Batting first, MI posted 120/9 in 20 overs as Sachin Tendulkar top-scored with 34 (4 fours). Bhuvneshwar Kumar registered 2/9 in 3 overs whereas Ashish Nehra registered 2/19 in 4 overs. Pune Warriors had the chance to seal the deal at home.

Mithun Manhas tried his best in the run-chase by scoring an unbeaten 42 but didn’t support from other end. MI bowlers restricted Pune Warriors to 119/6 and won the game by 1 run. Malinga was named the Man of the Match for his quintessential contribution.

Read More: Top 5 most expensive spells ever bowled in IPL history

Back to top button