Cricket News

IPL 2023: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Retained, Released and Traded Players List

KKR made some interesting acquisitions in the trading window.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are the third-most successful franchise in the history of the Indian Premier League. The Knight Riders showed incredible zeal and zest under the astute leadership traits of Gautam Gambhir in IPL 2012 and IPL 2014 seasons. As a result, they went on to win the title in those seasons respectively.

During the IPL 2012 season, KKR went on to beat Chennai Super Kings to win their maiden title. On the other hand, they defeated Kings XI Punjab (Punjab Kings now) in the IPL 2014 season to win their second title. Since then, they hardly made any impact in the following seasons. They narrowly missed out on qualifying for the playoffs in the IPL 2020 season.


However, they surprised the cricket fraternity by making it to the finals of the IPL 2021 season. They finished fourth on the points table but managed to defy the odds in the Eliminator, Qualifier 2 to book their place in the finals. As it turned out, they surrendered at the hands of Chennai Super Kings in the final encounter in UAE.

KKR failed to bring the best out of themselves in the IPL 2022 season. They ran through a disappointing campaign where they managed to win six games and lost the rest of the eight games, collecting 12 points in the process. Nevertheless, they will be looking forward to making a rebound with a fresh perspective in the next season.


The two-time IPL champions will be looking to add quality substance in an attempt to strengthen their squad. KKR will submit their retention list on the deadline day i.e. (November 15). Now, let’s take a look at the list of KKR’s retained, released and traded players for IPL 2023.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Retained Players Lists For IPL 2023:

  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • Nitish Rana
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Anukul Roy
  • Andre Russell
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Sunil Narine
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Tim Southee
  • Harshit Rana
  • Varun Chakravarthy
  • Rinku Singh
  • Venkatesh Iyer

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Released Players Lists For IPL 2023:

  • Pat Cummins
  • Sam Billings
  • Aman Khan
  • Shivam Mavi
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Aaron Finch
  • Alex Hales
  • Abhijeet Tomar
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Ashok Sharma
  • Baba Indrajith
  • Pratham Singh
  • Ramesh Kumar
  • Rasikh Salam
  • Sheldon Jackson

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Traded Players For IPL 2023:

Shardul Thakur has been traded from Delhi Capitals (DC) franchise to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League. On the contrary, Delhi Capitals have acquired the services of uncapped Mumbai all-rounder Aman Khan from KKR in their trade for all-rounder Shardul Thakur. Meanwhile, Lockie Ferguson and Rahmanullah Gurbaz were traded from Gujarat Titans to KKR.


Note: We will update the lists once the official list comes out.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Mumbai Indians (MI) Retained, Released and Traded Players List

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button