IPL 2021 to be held from April 9 to May 30 across 6 venues: Report

IPL 2021
(Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian Premier League is the best and most-watched domestic cricket league in the world. The lucrative IPL saw 13 seasons of thrill, joy, excitement and mixed emotions. All the franchises are geared up for the fourteenth edition which will be played in the April to May window. 

Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in the Indian Premier League as they won 5 titles. Chennai Super Kings are the second-most successful team as they won 3 titles. Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition while Deccan Chargers (now-defunct) and Sunrisers Hyderabad won one title. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals are yet to win the championship so far. RCB reached the final on three occasions while Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals reached the final once. However, the upcoming IPL will see a different version of teams as the league will be more and more competitive. 

IPL 14 to commence on April 9

If reports doing the rounds are to be believed, the upcoming IPL will go all guns blazing on April 9. The Board of Control for Cricket in India are confident that they will host the tournament in India this time around. Last time, the tournament was hosted in the United Arab Emirates due to the coronavirus outbreak.

A report from IndiaToday added that IPL will start on April 9. The report further added that BCCI has already chosen 6 venues namely Ahmedabad, Chennai, Bengaluru, New Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai. These are the venues where bio-bubble environment will be created for 60 games scheduled to take place across 52 days.

It was also reported that the meeting between BCCI, MCA officials and Sharad Pawar produced positive results. “The general impression at the meeting was that it should be just like in Ahmedabad or Chennai, where the 50 per cent crowds are/were allowed,” one of the members engaged in a meeting told Cricbuzz.


The mini-IPL auction concluded in Chennai recently. All the eight franchises had a good day at the auction as they picked up the right players to get all their bases covered. No team has won three IPL titles in a row and it will be quite interesting to see which team will win the title this time around.