IPL 2021

IPL 2021: Delhi Capitals complete players list, squad and all you need to know

Delhi Capitals are one of the teams to watch out for in the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League. They entered the IPL 2020 season as underdogs and stunned the opposition by dictating the tempo, energy in every aspect of the game. As a result, they were able to win games with such ease.

They were earlier tagged as ‘Delhi Daredevils’. They changed their name to Delhi Capitals. Since they look like a different team altogether. For the first time in history, they managed to reach the IPL final last time but sadly lost to Mumbai Indians as Rohit Sharma & Co aced the run-chase by 5 wickets with 8 balls remaining.

Delhi Capitals won the hearts of the fans for their fantastic approach to games. They are destined to win titles considering the team that has a blend of youth and experience. Moreover, they have the backing of Ricky Ponting whose assistance played a key role in helping the team reach the finals for the first time since the inception of the IPL.

Just like other teams, Delhi Capitals retained the core part of the players and released only 5 players. They have great players in their arsenal and are expected to stun the opposition with their available players. Delhi Capitals did a smart work at the auction as they didn’t splash too much cash on the players.

DC rope in Steve Smith and Tom Curran

Steve Smith who was released by Rajasthan Royals ahead of the auction was purchased by Delhi Capitals for INR 2.20 crore. Earlier, Smith had set his maximum base price at INR 2 crore. They also purchased England’s Tom Curran for INR 5.25 crore which is the maximum amount they spend on purchasing the player at the auction this time. Delhi Capitals also roped in Sam Billings for INR 2 crore for the next season.

Players retained: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, R Ashwin, Lalit Yadav, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Woakes, Daniel Sams.


Players released: Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Alex Carey, Mohit Sharma and Tushar Deshpande.

Bought list: Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddharth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings.

Delhi Capitals complete squad for IPL 2021:

Shreyas Iyer (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan, Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddarth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button