Cricket News

Harsha Bhogle picks his India squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

No Sanju Samson in Harsha Bhogle's squad.

The upcoming edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is scheduled to be held this year. The much-anticipated event will get underway on October 17. So far, no team has won the T20 World Cup at home. Earlier, it was expected that the event would be hosted in India.

However, considering the ongoing situation, the officials decided to stage the tournament in the UAE. West Indies won the T20 World Cup twice, more than any other team. On the other hand, India, England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka won a title each.

The defending champions have been actively taking part in T20I games at home. Earlier, they lost to South Africa but won against Australia. Currently, West Indies are playing against Pakistan in the T20I series. The first match has been called off due to rain.

Pakistan won the second match by 7 runs. On the other hand, India lost to Sri Lanka in the T20I series. Sri Lanka won the series by 2-1, in what was a convincing series victory. Based on players’ form, Harsha Bhogle named his India squad for the upcoming World Cup.

No place for Shikhar Dhawan and Kuldeep Yadav

During the show Cricbuzz Live, Harsha named 5 specialist batsmen in his squad. Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav are featured in Bhogle’s squad. Harsha reckons there would be a tough competition between Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan for the fifth spot in his squad.

Harsha Bhogle left Shikhar Dhawan out of the squad. The commentator picked three all-rounders Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, and Ravindra Jadeja. The young lad Rishabh Pant would take the wicketkeeper’s slot. Harsha also went on to pick 2 specialist spinners in the squad. They are none other than Varun Chakravarthy and Yuzvendra Chahal.


Coming to the pacers, he allocated four slots in his squad. He picked three fast bowlers in the confirmed category – Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, and Jasprit Bumrah. The fourth slot is a toss-up between Mohammed Shami and T Natarajan. Harsha Bhogle excluded Kuldeep Yadav from the group apart from Dhawan.

Harsha Bhogle’s India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021:

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer/Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Varun Chakravarthy, Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami/T Natarajan, Yuzvendra Chahal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button