Cricket Stats

IPL Fastest 50 List – Fastest Fifties in IPL history

On certain occasions, a cricket player who is batting can rapidly shift into a different mode, catching the opposing team off guard and making it nearly impossible for them to prevent runs from being scored.

The IPL is a type of cricket tournament that is known for its ability to quickly shift the momentum of a game in just a few overs. This can make it very challenging for teams to recover if they fall too far behind. Sometimes,Quickest  a skilled batsman can rapidly change the pace of the game, making it nearly impossible for the opposing team to control the scoring.

The 16th season of the league, which is known for its high payouts, will start on March 31, 2023, with a match between the Gujarat Titans and the Chennai Super Kings. All the teams have assembled strong rosters for the upcoming season, and we will be discussing them in this article.

Ranking The Quickest Half-Centuries In IPL’s History

In IPL 2023, young Indian opener Yashasvi Jaiswal smashed the fastest fifty in IPL history. He took just 13 deliveries to reach the 50-mark and script history. The memorable knock came against KKR while chasing 150 in a virtual knockout match.

The previous joint-holder of the record was Pat Cummins who touched the fifty in 14 balls while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2022. His unbeaten innings of 56 runs off 15 deliveries included four boundaries and six huge sixes, with a breath-taking over against Daniel Sams that yielded 35 runs. 

KL Rahul was the other holder of the holder as he blasted 50 runs in just 14 deliveries during the 2018 edition while playing for Kings XI Punjab against Delhi. Karun Nair also contributed to the team’s victory with his half-century knock of 50 runs off 33 balls, including 5 fours and 2 sixes. 


Previous to them, Yusuf Pathan and Sunil Narine were the joint record holders for the fastest fifty in IPL. Yusuf Pathan’s unforgettable innings for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014 helped them chase down 161 runs in just 14.2 overs, while Narine and Chris Lynn’s partnership in 2017 for KKR helped them chase down 159 runs in just 15.1 overs. 

Nicholas Pooran’s blistering innings for Lucknow Super Giants against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2023 saw him score a half-century in just 15 balls, which was joint-second on the all-time list with Yusuf Pathan and Sunil Narine. 

Suresh Raina’s brilliant knock of 87 runs off 25 balls for Chennai Super Kings in 2014, despite getting run out on the first ball of the seventh over, is considered the most outstanding innings in IPL history without a century. He is also on the list of most fours in IPL history.

Ishan Kishan, Mumbai Indian’s most expensive player in the 2022 mega auction, scored the fastest half-century of IPL 2021 in just 16 balls against Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

How can Chris Gayle, the one with the most sixes in IPL history, can be out of the list? He holds the record for the highest score among the 9 players who scored the fastest fifty in IPL, with his knock of 175 runs off 66 balls against Pune Warriors in 2013. Other players who have hit the fastest fifty in IPL include Chris Gayle, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Adam Gilchrist, and Chris Morris.

Fastest 50 In IPL History:

PlayerBalls TakenOpponentYear
Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR)13KKR2023
KL Rahul (PBKS)14DC2018
Pat Cummins (KKR)14MI2022
Yusuf Pathan (KKR)15SRH2014
Nicholas Pooran (LSG)15RCB2023
Sunil Narine (KKR)15RCB2017
Suresh Raina (CSK)16PBKS2014
Ishan Kishan (MI)16SRH2021
Kieron Pollard (MI)17KKR2016
Chris Gayle (RCB)17PWI2013
Sunil Narine (KKR)17RCB 2018
Hardik Pandya (MI)17KKR2019
Adam Gilchrist (DEC)17Deccan Chargers2009
Ishan Kishan (MI)17KKR2018
Chris Morris (DC)17GL2016
Nicholas Pooran (PBKS)17SRH2020
Kieron Pollard17CSK2021

Fasted Fifties In IPL 2023:

PlayerBalls TakenOpponentVenue
Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR)13KKREden Gardens
Nicholas Pooran (PBKS)15RCBChinnaswamy Stadium
Ajinkya Rahane (CSK)19MIWankhede stadium
Shardul Thakur (KKR)20RCBEden Gardens
Jos Buttler20SRHRajiv Gandhi International Stadium
Vijay shankar (GT)21KKRNarendra Modi Stadium
Kyle Mayers (LSG)21CSKMA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Ishan Kishan (MI)21KKRWankhede Stadium
Axar Patel (DC)22MIArun Jaitley Stadium
Venkatesh Iyer (KKR)23MIWankhede Stadium
Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)23GTNarendra Modi Stadium
Faf du Plessis (RCB)23CSKChinnaswamy Stadium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button