Cricket News

England announce their squad for T20 World Cup, Jason Roy misses the flight

England will also miss the services of their ace pacer Jofra Archer.

The winds for the T20 World Cup have started to flow strongly as England has become the 2nd nation after Australia to announce their 15-member squad for the mega event scheduled in October-November this year. The key takeaways from England’s squad are the comeback of Chris Woakes and Mark Wood alongside the exclusion of swashbuckling opener Jason Roy.

In the last few years, England have earned themselves a reputation in white-ball cricket. However, it will be their first major tournament post-retirement of their charismatic captain Eoin Morgan. England have tried to cover all bases while assembling a balanced squad for the multination event.

Jason Roy axed from England’s T20 World Cup Squad

It was already speculated that the selectors might axe the struggling opener for an in-form player. On Friday, it was confirmed as the selectors omitted Jason Roy from England’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 led by Jos Buttler. Notably, Phil Salt has managed to find a place in the 15-member squad and he is likely to open the batting for them in the tournament.

In addition to that, some usual suspects, including Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, and Moeen Ali also found their names in the squad. Meanwhile, the likes of Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, and Tymal Mills have been named as the travelling reserves with the team.

England squad for T20 World Cup: Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben, Stokes, and Mark Wood.

Also Read: Twitter reacts as Rohit Sharma leaves fans guessing with his latest Instagram post


Alongside their world cup squad, England have also announced the 19-member squad for the Pakistan tour. England will be travelling to Pakistan in September to play seven T20Is against Men in Green. Moeen Ali has been named the deputy-skipper of the side with five uncapped players. He will lead the team in the absence of Jos Buttler, who is currently recovering from a calf injury and is expected to join the team during the latter stages of the tour.

England Squad for Pakistan T20Is: Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali (Vice-Captain), Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil, Rashid, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, and Mark Wood.

Also Read: Suryakumar Yadav gives quirky reply to a question over KL Rahul’s place in Team India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button