India pacer Mohammed Siraj commits a comedy of errors by giving away a free boundary to South Africa in the 2nd ODI of the three-match series. On Sunday, India faced South Africa in the 2nd game of the three-match ODI series at the JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi. The Proteas skipper Keshav Maharaj won the toss and opted to bat first on a tricky wicket.
South Africa had a difficult start as they lost their star opener, Quinton de Kock, early. Janneman Malan got his eyes in but fell soon after in the 10th over. Aiden Markram and Reeza Hendricks stitched a vital partnership of 129 runs for the fourth wicket but the onus of finishing once again fell on David Miller’s shoulders.
For India, Mohammed Siraj was at his absolute best as he clinched three wickets for 38 runs in his 10 overs. However, in the 48th over of South Africa’s innings, the pacer was involved in a funny incident.
Mohammed Siraj commits a mistake; argues with the umpires as well
On the second ball of the 48th over, Keshav Maharaj was taking the strike while David Miller was present on the non-striking end. Siraj beat the South African skipper on the inside edge with a back-of-a-length nip-backer. The wicket-keeper Sanju Samson collected the ball and threw it back to the fast bowler.
Also Read: AUS vs ENG 2022: Twitter fumes at Matthew Wade for obstructing Mark Wood from taking his catch
Mohammed Siraj was upset for not getting a wicket and he saw David Miller roaming out of the crease while walking back. Spotting it, the pacer aimed at the non-striker’s stumps and threw the ball. However, the throw missed the stumps and the ball went for a boundary with no fielder backing up.
The umpires gave it away as a boundary but the Indian skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Mohammed Siraj were not happy with the decision as the ball must have been considered dead before it went towards the boundary rope.
Watch the video here:
Also Read: Watch: Ben Stokes hit on helmet grill while trying a reverse shot against Daniel Sams