WATCH: ‘Emotional’ Sreesanth celebrates his first Ranji Trophy wicket after 9 years

Sreesanth shared the video on his Twitter handle.

Sreesanth. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Veteran India pacer Sreesanth returned to first-class cricket after a span of nine years. He was barred from playing domestic cricket after he was found guilty in a spot-fixing case. However, his ban was cut short in 2020, paving way for his return to competitive cricket.

The cricketer from Kerala returned during his state’s Ranji Trophy opener against Meghalaya. Known for his high-wrist action and straight arm, Sreesanth scalped two wickets in the first innings. Although he returned wicket-less in the second essay, Kerala managed to beat their mighty opponents and start the campaign with a win.


The 39-year-old seamer was certainly emotional after getting his first Ranji Trophy wicket after a gap of nine years. The tall and lanky pacer was seen lying down on the wicket and thanked for being kind towards him. The Kerala pacer posted the video of Aryan Bora’s dismissal, where he caught the batsman napping with a quick bouncer.

Sreesanth also captioned the video with a heartfelt note. He wrote, “Now that’s my 1st wicket after 9 long years..gods grace I was just over joyed and giving my Pranaam to the wicket ..”.

Watch the clip here:


Sreesanth gets injured

Meanwhile, Sreesanth suffered a critical injury and missed the second game. He also missed that final group game that kicked off earlier today (March 3).

Sreesanth returned to competitive cricket in the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He finished the tournament with four wickets in five games. He also featured in the Vijay Hazare Trophy for Kerala and ended up taking 13 wickets in 6 games.

Meanwhile, Sreesanth had also enrolled for the IPL 2022 mega auction that took place last month in Bengaluru. However, he didn’t attract any bid from the franchise. The flamboyant cricketer has represented India in 27 Tests, 53 ODIs, and 10 T20Is. He was part of the 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 Cricket World Cup-winning squads.