Cricket News

Sri Lankan Cricket Board election to be held on 20 May

Sri Lankan cricket is in shambles at the moment and they are not the phenomenal force they used to be before. There has no development in terms of results. The team suffered humiliation at the hands of South Africa and England recently. The depleted Lankan side has been struggling to get on top ever since Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara called curtains on their career.

They are gifting wins to the opposition teams and it is indeed tough to see such a team getting battered even at home. Earlier, South Africa completed a whitewash over Sri Lanka in South African soil. After suffered Proteas’ wrath, the Lankans were expected to deliver the goods when they locked horns with England at home.

As it turned out, England inflicted a 2-0 clean sweep on Sri Lanka as the home side failed to protect their fortress in the first and second Test. The Sri Lankan players came under fire for their inability to convert their performances into results. The coaching staff were not spared either.

24th February – Last day for submitting nominations

In a fresh development, the election for Sri Lankan Cricket is expected to be held on Thursday, 20 May 2021. The cricket board officially announced the news on February 4. Meanwhile, the last date for submitting the nominations will be 24 February 2021.

A report from The Morning stated that there could be as many as three camps, under current President Shammi Silva, former Vice President Kangadaran Mathivanan, and former Sri Lanka skipper Sanath Jayasuriya, that are to contest the Sri Lanka Cricket elections this time around.

However, the former Sri Lankan captain Jayasuriya later denied he is contesting. On January 7 at an Extraordinary General Meeting, Sri Lankan board recruited a three-member Election Committee in agreement with the regulations of the Sports Law.


The date for the respective elections was to be announced within 2 months after the Election Committee was recruited (before March 7). It should be noted that the deadline for staging the election was May 31.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button