Cricket News

Roger Binny to succeed Sourav Ganguly as next BCCI president; Jay Shah to continue as secretary: Report

It is time for a regime change in the Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) as the World Cup 1983 hero Roger Binny is all set to become the new president replacing Sourav Ganguly at the Board’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 18th October. Meanwhile, Jay Shah is likely to retain his position and continue as the BCCI secretary. As per reports, new faces will take the charge of various positions as BJP MLA Ashish Shelar will reportedly become the Treasurer replacing Arun Dhumal.

On Tuesday, the BCCI held a meeting at the Trident Hotel in Mumbai where all office bearers from various parts of the country and cricket associations filed their respective nominations for the positions available on the board. In the same internal meeting, discussions were held regarding the upcoming elections scheduled on the 18th of October.


Rajeev Shukla is the only Congressman left in the BCCI cabinet as he will keep serving as the board’s vice president. Meanwhile, Arun Singh Dhumal, Sports minister Anurag Thakur’s younger brother, will now become the new IPL chairman. He will replace the outgoing Brijesh Patel in the top position. In the other major shake-up, Devajit Saikia, who is Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma’s close aide, will replace Jayesh George as the new joint secretary.

Also Read: Yuzvendra Chahal names Ravindra Jadeja’s alternative for T20 World Cup 2022


As per reports, all these positions were decided by a key person in the central government.

“An influential minister in the central government played a key role in deciding the positions in the Board set up,” revealed a BCCI source to PTI.


Roger Binny to become the next BCCI president

The medium pacer was a key member of the India side that played and won the 1983 World Cup under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. He emerged as the best bowler in the tournament with 18 wickets in 8 matches.

On October 18th, Roger Binny is supposed to take the BCCI charge officially at the AGM in Mumbai. Furthermore, no elections will take place as all candidates are expected to be elected unopposed.

Meanwhile, the outgoing BCCI president Sourav Ganguly is likely to be India’s representative for the ICC Chairman’s post. However, if he will contest the elections for the ICC Chairman’s post hasn’t been decided yet.

Also Read: Chris Gayle picks his finalists for T20 World Cup 2022 final

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button