Complete list of trophies won by MS Dhoni as a Captain

MS Dhoni collected numerous trophies during his tenure.

A captain’s decision-making is a deciding factor in the team’s success. In the past, cricket has witnessed many legendary captains but former India skipper MS Dhoni will be remembered amongst the most successful captains in world cricket. The former wicketkeeper-batsman has achieved a lot as a wicketkeeper, batsman, and captain in his 15 years of International cricket. Under his captaincy, India won the 2007 T20 World Cup, the 2011 limited overs world cup as well as the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. Apart from these achievements the Ranchi born has won personal awards. He won the 2008 ICC ODI Player of the Year award in 2008 & 2009.

Dhoni was included in the ICC World XI squad in 2006,2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014. He was included in the ICC Men’s ODI & T20I team of the decade between 2011 & 2020. In 2020, he was awarded the ICC Spirit of cricket award of the Decade 2020. He was awarded the Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan & Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna awards, in 2008, 2009 & 2018 respectively.

As a batsman, Dhoni scored 4876 runs in 90 tests, 10773 runs in 350 ODIs, 1617 runs in 98 T20Is & 5082 runs in 250 IPL games. As a wicket-keeper, Dhoni registered 41, 145, 42 & 65 dismissals in tests, ODIs, T20Is & IPL respectively. We explain the trophies won by MS Dhoni in detail:

List of trophies won by MS Dhoni as a Captain:

Trophies wonNumber of timesYear
ICC World T2012007
ICC Cricket World Cup12011
ICC Champions Trophy12013
Asia Cup 22010,2016
Border Gavaskar Trophy32008,2010,2013
ICC Test Mace22010,2011
CB Series12008
IPL52010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
Champions League T2022010, 2016

2007 T20 World Cup

After a disappointing first-round exit in the limited-overs world cup in West Indies in 2007, MS Dhoni reestablished the side in an emphatic style in the T20 World Cup in the same year in South Africa. India beat Australia in the semi-final and Pakistan in the finals. The likes of Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, and Irfan Pathan highlighted their match-winning capabilities. Team India surprised everyone with an enigmatic performance.

2011 Limited Overs World Cup

Team India once again showcased their dominance in world cricket with captain MS Dhoni leading the charge. India won their second limited-overs world cup on the back of some wonderful performances from Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, and pacer Zaheer Khan. Dhoni showcased his calm temperament during crunch situations when it came to making bowling changes.

2013 ICC Champions Trophy

The tournament was played in challenging English conditions but MS Dhoni and his men in blue produced yet another superlative performance. With the likes of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma producing fine batting performances, India reached the final quite easily. In final India beat England by 5 runs. The match was cut short to 20 overs a side due to rain.

2010 & 2016 Asia Cup

MS Dhoni led a young Indian side in the absence of players like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, and Yuvraj Singh in the 2010 Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. India scored 268/6 in 50 overs while Sri Lanka was bowled out for 187. Pacer Ashish Nehra bowled beautifully taking 4/40 in 9 overs. The 2016 Asia Cup was a T20 affair as the tournament was played in Bangladesh. India faced Bangladesh in the final . The final was a 15-over game as Bangladesh scored 120/5 in 15 overs. Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli scored 60 & 41 respectively. MS Dhoni smashed 20 in 6 balls to win the game for India.

ICC Test Mace in 2010 & 2011

Team India was at the top of their game under Dhoni’s leadership. The team was at the top of the rankings for the first time in test cricket. India performed outstandingly from May 2009 overtaking Australia to achieve the first test mace. India replicated their performances in the following year under Dhoni’s captaincy and retained the test mace in 2011.

Border Gavaskar Trophy in 2008, 2010 & 2013

India won the four-match test series 2-0 that was held in India in 2008. In October 2010 the two-match test series was again played in India with India winning 2-0. It was a complete whitewash when Australia toured India again in February-March 2013. India won the series 4-0.

Commonwealth Bank Series 2008

MS Dhoni registered team India’a name in the history book after a memorable win in the tri-series in Australia. India, Australia & Sri Lanka were the three teams in the tournament. India beat Australia in both finals (it was a best-of-three final). MS Dhoni showcased prompt decision-making when it came to his clever bowling changes and field placements on tricky Australian wickets.

IPL (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023)

Chennai Super Kings have been one of the best and most consistent sides in the IPL over the years alongside Mumbai Indians. CSK captain MS Djoni had this knack of identifying talents from small parts of India which made CSK amongst the most dominating outfits in the IPL. Dhoni had the ability to bring the best out of any ordinary player which is why CSK won the IPL five times under his leadership.

Champions League (2010 & 2014)

Captain MS Dhoni once again highlighted his calculative leadership skills. The 2010 edition was played in South Africa. Chennai Super Kings won the final beating home side Warriors. In the 2014 edition, Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 8 wickets chasing 181. The tournament was played in India while the final was played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Read More: MS Dhoni Captaincy Record (Tests, ODIs, T20Is, and IPL) – A Statistical Analysis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button