Cricket Stats

Top 10 Longest Sixes In IPL History

These sixes surprising everyone including the hitters.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) provides the best of the cricketing action to its viewers, including the biggest cricketing superstars on the planet. There is a buffet of high-octane action filled with boundaries, maximums, and wickets for the fans.

Hitting maximums at will is one of the most vital skills required in T20 cricket. That’s why power-hitters hold a lot of value to their respective sides in the mega-event. However, while fans enjoy watching the ball traveling beyond the boundaries, they enjoy it more watching it traveling for gigantic distances.

Fans crave the thrill of seeing balls soaring through the air, and in the previous IPL edition, Nicholas Pooran delivered that excitement with a 106-meter six. This was no surprise, considering Pooran’s natural flair and skill. Other notable big hitters like MS Dhoni and Sanju Samson also sent balls flying over 100 meters.

Here, we are going to take a look at the top 10 biggest sixes in IPL history.

Albie Morkel – 125 Metres

The IPL’s record of the longest six belongs to the former allrounder Albie Morkel, which is quite a remarkable feat considering the presence of heavyweights like MS Dhoni and Chris Gayle. In the first edition of IPL in 2008, Morkel unleashed a monstrous six of 125 meters against Pragyan Ojha while representing Chennai Super Kings. 

Praveen Kumar – 124 Metres

In the 2011 edition of the Indian Premier League, Praveen Kumar exhibited his power-hitting skills by smashing a massive six against the formidable bowler Lasith Malinga. The ball traveled an incredible distance of 124 meters, announcing Praveen Kumar as a surprise contender on the list of top-performing players. 

Adam Gilchrist – 122 Metres

During that same season of IPL 2011, Adam Gilchrist made a remarkable impact while playing for the Punjab team by smashing a massive six that traveled a distance of 122 meters. This incredible feat of power and precision left everyone in awe and cemented his reputation as one of the greatest hitters of the cricket ball. 


Robin Uthappa – 120 Metres

the 2010 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Robin Uthappa displayed his exceptional hitting abilities by smashing a whopping 120-meter six while representing the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Chris Gayle – 119 Metres

In the 2013 season, Chris Gayle, commonly known as the ‘universe boss’, made his mark in the world of cricket by hitting a remarkable six that travelled an impressive 119 meters. This feat has cemented his place at the joint fifth spot in the all-time list of longest sixes in cricket history. 

Yuvraj Singh – 119 Metres

Yuvraj Singh, a renowned cricketer, is known for his exceptional ability to hit sixes with great accuracy and power. In fact, he holds a remarkable record of hitting a six that traveled a distance of 119 meters, leaving both his teammates and opponents in awe. 

Ross Taylor – 119 Metres

In the 2008 debut season of the Indian Premier League, Ross Taylor commenced his journey with the Royal Challengers Bangalore team, and he left a remarkable impression on the audience with his impressive 119-meter six. 

Ben Cutting – 117 Metres

In the IPL 2016 final, Ben Cutting demonstrated his exceptional batting skills by smashing 39 runs off a mere 15 balls, contributing significantly to SRH’s championship victory. One of the most striking moments of his innings was when he launched a towering six that soared an impressive 117 meters, propelling the ball out of the iconic Chinnaswamy stadium.

Gautam Gambhir – 117 Meters

Gautam Gambhir holds the record for hitting the biggest six in IPL history, which is an incredible feat. In the 2013 season, while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, Gambhir smashed a magnificent 117-meter six that was hailed as one of the purest and most spectacular hits of the season.

Liam Livingstone – 117 Meters

With each swing of his bat, Liam Livingstone unleashes colossal sixes, each measuring an impressive 117 meters. Fans will be eagerly anticipating his appearance for PBKS in the upcoming 2023 edition of the tournament. The schedule for PBKS promises to be a thrilling and action-packed affair, leaving cricket enthusiasts on the edge of their seats.

RankPlayerYearCovered Distance (In Meters)
1Albie Morkel (CSK)2008125
2Praveen Kumar (PBKS)2011124
3Adam Gilchrist (PBKS)2011122
4Robin Uthappa (RCB)2010120
5Chris Gayle (RCB)2013119
6Yuvraj Singh (PBKS2009119
7Ross Taylor (RCB)2008119
8Ben Cutting (SRH)2016117
9Gautam Gambhir (KKR)2013117
10Liam Livingstone (CSK)2022117

IPL 2023: Longest Sixes List So Far

PlayerDistance (In Meters)Venue
Faf du Plessis(RCB)115M Chinnaswamy Stadium
Jos Buttler (RR)112Sawai Mansingh Stadium
Shivam Dube (CSK)111M Chinnaswamy Stadium
Shivam Dube (CSK)102MA Chidambaram Stadium
Rinku Singh (KKR)101Eden Gardens
Venkatesh Iyer (KKR)101Narendra Modi Stadium
Nehal Wadhera (MI)101M Chinnaswamy Stadium

ALSO READ – Bowlers with most dot balls in IPL history

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button