Cricket News

How can England still qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy?

Defending champions England are having one of their worst World Cups campaigns in the 2023 edition. With only one win in six games, their semi-final berth is almost compromised. To further add to the woes, they might also fail to qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy.

As per the scenerio, the teams finishing in the first seven positions after the league stage of the ongoing marquee event will get the ticket to the Champions Trophy. These seven sides will compete with the host Pakistan for the presitigious title.

England, who are currently residing at the bottom of the points table, may find it tough to finish in the top seven. They have only three games left to change their fortunes and avoid the humiliation.

Read More: Meet Sri Lanka’s biggest fan, Uncle Percy

How can England qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy?

In order to qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy, England need to win atleast two out of their three remaining games against Australia, Netherlands and Pakistan. However, the two victories won’t be enough to confirm the berth as they would also require many results to go in their favour.

England should pray Netherlands to lose all their three remaining games against Afghanistan, England and India. Bangaldesh should also lose at least two of their remaining games, which are against the likes of Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Australia.


The roadmap looks complex and difficult but anything is possible in this game of skills. Only time will whether England will be playing the 2025 Champions Trophy or not. For now, they should only focus upon their own matches and try to clinch as many games as possible.

Read More: ‘Fastest way to reach London’ – Parthiv Patel reacts to Barmy Army’s trolling of Virat Kohli

Back to top button