Cricket Videos

CPL 2021: Dominic Drakes help St Kitts and Nevis Patriots seal a thriller win over St Lucia Kings in final

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots finished the CPL 2020 season at the bottom of the points table. The Patriots secured just one victory from 10 games and that literally summed up their season. But that didn’t stop them from making a stellar comeback in the CPL 2021 season.

They upgraded their arsenal by roping in Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle. Since then, they became a phenomenal force to be reckoned with. DJ Bravo instilled a winning philosophy in the team and turned the team into potential title contenders.

They got the better of Guyana Amazon Warriors in the second semi-final and booked their berth in the final. St Kitts and Nevis Patriots locked horns with St Lucia Kings in the CPL 2021 final. St Lucia Kings posted 159/7 in their quota of 20 overs.

Rahkeem Cornwall and Roston Chase scored 43 each. Keemo Paul uplifted the team’s morale by scoring a quickfire 39 off 21 balls including 5 hits over the fence. Fawad Ahmed and Naseem Shah took 2 wickets apiece for the Patriots.

Dominic Drakes seals the deal for SNP

The Patriots got off to a terrible start as they lost key batsmen Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis for cheap scores. However, wicketkeeper-batsman Joshua Da Silva scored 37 off 32 balls with the help of 5 fours. Sherfane Rutherford looked good for his 25 off 22.

SNP captain Dwayne Bravo failed to fire for the team in the need of the hour. However, Dominic Drakes upped the game by scoring a match-winning 48 off 24 balls. His innings included 3 fours and as many sixes at a strike rate of 200.


The intriguing final was stretched to the final over. Both teams had their fair share of opportunities to hit the jackpot. In the end, the Patriots had the last laugh in the battle as Dominic Drakes helped the team pull off the ropes from the jaws of the defeat.

When 5 runs were required off the last 2 balls, southpaw Drakes smashed a boundary and eased the pressure. Kesrick Williams tried his best to keep Drakes in check but in the end, he conceded a single off the last ball. SNP won the game by 3 wickets and won their maiden CPL title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button