Cricket Bytes

Ranking top 10 best T20 cricket leagues in the world

T20 leagues are taking control all over the world.

The T20 format was introduced solely because of entertainment. The advent of this truncated format brought in fans from across quarters and which is precisely the reason why the T20 format is now the most-watched format in the world. The epic success of the T20 World Cup 2007 tournament paved the way for the entry of several franchise cricket leagues across the globe.

Just a year after the T20 World Cup 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) launched their own franchise cricket league, so-called the Indian Premier League. Besides that, other top nations too came up with their own T20 cricket leagues, which in turn became quite successful as well. Today, cricketers have shown a great deal of interest to participate in T20 leagues in the world.

Now, in this listicle, let’s take a look at the best T20 leagues in the world.

1. Indian Premier League

The cash-rich Indian Premier League is the most-watched T20 league in the globe. Launched in the year 2008, the lucrative tournament has successfully completed as many as 15 seasons. As many as 10 teams are part of the tournament. Moreover, the players are also paid hefty amounts for representing their respective franchises. IPL offers staggering prize money of USD 2,696,258 for the winners.

2. Big Bash League

Cricket Australia (CA) launched their very own franchise cricket league called the Big Bash League. For the record, the KFC Big Bash League was launched in the year 2011. Australia’s premier T20 tournament has seen as many as 8 teams fighting for the title. The winning team of the Big Bash League gets huge prize money of USD 4,50,000, which is the third-highest in the world.

3. T20 Blast

T20 Blast is the oldest and the first professional T20 competition in the world. For sponsorship reasons, T20 Blast is named the “Vitality Blast”. It is a professional Twenty20 cricket tournament for English and Welsh first-class counties. Launched in 2003, it has completed 20 seasons so far. As many as 18 teams take part in this league. The winner of this league gets prize money of USD 236,127.


4. Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League is the second-most-watched league in the world after IPL. Pakistan’s very own franchise cricket tournament has successfully completed seven editions already. PSL was launched in 2016 and as many as six teams are competing in the tournament. For the unversed, the winner of the Pakistan Super League gets a prize money of USD 505,000 which is the second-highest in the world.

5. Caribbean Premier League

The majority of the West Indies cricketers have made the T20 leagues ever so special by bringing in the Caribbean flavour. West Indies cricketers are the most sought-after cricketers in the T20 cricket fraternity and they are part of several T20 leagues across the world. CPL was launched in 2013 and as many as six teams take part in the tournament. The winner gets a prize money of USD 429,799.

Read More: What is a soft signal in cricket? How does it work?

6. Bangladesh Premier League

Bangladesh Cricket Board launched its very own franchise cricket league so-called the Bangladesh Premier League in 2012. Since then, it has become one of the most successful T20 leagues in the country. Moreover, the BPL is one of the three professional cricket leagues in Bangladesh. As many as seven teams take part in the tournament and the winner of this league gets a prize money of USD 236,099.

7. Lanka Premier League

Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) launched its own version of the T20 league called the Lanka Premier League. The T20 league made its entry in the year 2020. For the unversed, as many as six teams partake in the tournament. Ever since its launch, the LPL has successfully completed three editions so far. The winner of the Lanka Premier League tournament gets prize money of USD 100,000.

8. Afghan Premier League

Just like other nations, Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) launched their very own franchise-based T20 league so-called the Afghan Premier League. As many as five teams take part in the tournament, which is held in the United Arab Emirates. The winner of this tournament gets prize money of USD 300,000 which is comparatively higher than the prize money of T20 Blast, LPL and BPL.

9. SA20 League

Cricket South Africa (CSA) launched their very own franchise-based T20 tournament called the SA20 League. The Twenty20 franchise cricket tournament witnessed fans turning up in numbers to watch the carnival. For the record, it is contested by six franchises based in cities around the country. The winners of the inaugural edition of the SA20 League were Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

10. UAE International League T20

Not many know that the International League T20 tournament is United Arab Emirates’ very own franchise-based T20 league. For the record, as many as six teams partake in the competition. Each team can have as many as 9 overseas players. On the contrary, the remaining two slots will be reserved for UAE local players. Gulf Giants were the winners of the first edition in 2023.

Read More: Top 10 Highest-Paid Cricketers in the World by Salary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button