BCCI announces new player central contracts; Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan not considered

BCCI terminates Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer’s central contracts.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the new player central contracts. As expected, two popular names including Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan were not taken into consideration for the annual contracts this time around.

The development comes after the duo constantly refused to take part in domestic cricket. Prior to that, the BCCI secretary Jay Shah warned the centrally-contracted and A team players that the ones who are not part in domestic cricket would suffer consequences.

Ishan Kishan snubbed Ranji Trophy matches and was spotted training with Mumbai Indians captain Hardik Pandya for the upcoming edition of the IPL. A BCCI insider echoed that cricketers cannot simply prioritize international cricket or the IPL. The official stated that players must participate in domestic cricket and honour their commitments to their respective state teams.

The BCCI, in a recent press release stated that both Iyer and Kishan were not included in this round of recommendations. “Please note that Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan were not considered for the annual contracts in this round of recommendations.”

Read more: Can Dhruv Jurel retain his spot in playing XI after Rishabh Pant’s return? BCCI official has his say

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah in Grade A+ category

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja come under the Grade A+ category. On the other hand, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, and Hardik Pandya are included in Grade A category.


BCCI included the likes of Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, and Yashasvi Jaiswal in Grade B category. The players who belong to A+ category will earn INR 7 crores. Grade A category gets INR 5 crore whereas Grade B category gets paid up to INR 3 crore.

As far as the Grade C category is concerned, players will get paid INR 1 crore. Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Rajat Patidar, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson and Avesh Khan are included in this category.

Shreyas Iyer to play for Mumbai in Ranji Trophy semi-final against Tamil Nadu

Shreyas Iyer came under fire for his series of low scores in Test cricket of late. The right-handed batter’s shoddy shot selection cost him his wicket more often than not. He was left out of the squad following the second Test against England.

After that, he skipped the Ranji Trophy quarter-final against Baroda due to back pain, despite the fact that, Nitin Patel, the head of sports science and medicine at the NCA confirmed that Shreyas Iyer is fit and that he has no injury. Recently, it was learnt that Shreyas Iyer will turn up for Ranji Trophy semi-final against Tamil Nadu, starting on March 2 (Saturday) at the MCA-BKC ground.

Read more: Suresh Raina snubs CSK as he names his IPL 2024 title favourites