Cricket News

BCCI announce squads for New Zealand 2022 series; Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli rested

Hardik Pandya will lead India in the T20I series, while Shikhar Dhawan has been named the skipper for the ODIs

On Monday, the national selectors announced the Indian squads for the New Zealand tour scheduled to play right after the T20 World Cup. On the expected lines, the All-India Senior Selection Committee has decided to rest the seniors, including the skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul. Meanwhile, the all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been named the skipper for the T20 squad.

There are no surprises in the T20I squad as Rishabh Pant has been named the deputy to Hardik Pandya, while Sanju Samson is the 2nd wicketkeeper in the squad. The chinaman Kuldeep Yadav is a notable inclusion as the selectors have reunited the pair of Kul-Cha in both squads. Meanwhile, the Jammu Express Umran Malik has also found a place in India’s T20I squad for the New Zealand tour.

However, Hardik Pandya will return to India after the T20I series as the all-rounder has been rested in the ODIs and Shikhar Dhawan will lead the Indian team in the 50-over format against the Kiwis. Rishabh Pant has been named the vice-skipper for the ODIs as well.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Dinesh Karthik doubtful for Bangladesh game after suffering back injury against South Africa

Hardik Pandya to lead India in T20I series

It is a no-secret that India have been grooming the all-rounder as the skipper and he has been given the responsibility to lead the Men in Blue in the T20I series against the Kiwis. Among the notable absentees, Rahul Tripathi was unlucky to miss out on both squads. Meanwhile, Shahbaz Ahmed successfully retained his place in the ODI squad.

At the same time, Kuldeep Sen has received his maiden national call-up as the pacer has been named in India’s ODI squad. There are no other major surprises as the usual suspects, including Shubman Gill, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, and Deepak Hooda have been named in both squads.


For those who don’t know, Team India will play three T20Is followed by three ODIs on New Zealand soil after the T20 World Cup 2022. The series will begin on 18th November as two teams will play the first T20I at the Sky Stadium, Wellington.

India’s T20I squad for the New Zealand tour: Hardik Pandya (C), Rishabh Pant (VC & WK), Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (WK), Washington Sundar, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Umran Malik

India’s ODI squad for the New Zealand tour: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Rishabh Pant (VC & WK), Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson (WK), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Sen, and Umran Malik

Also Read: “It is time to take tough calls” – Harbhajan Singh asks India to drop two players after loss to South Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button