Cricket News

T20 World Cup 2024: India to lock horns with Pakistan on June 9, as per reports

The upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 tournament is slated to be held this year, to be hosted by the West Indies and the United States from June 4 to June 30. Australia were crowned the champions in the previous edition of the tournament by beating New Zealand in the showdown.

It remains to be seen which team implies tactics in clutch moments to come out on top in the final to win the title this time around. Meanwhile, if the reports doing the rounds are to be believed, then India are set to lock horns with Pakistan in the group stage.

According to various sources, India will cross swords with Pakistan on June 9 in New York. It is a clash that cricket fans from across the world are eagerly anticipating. Both teams locked horns with each other in the T20 World Cup 2022, with India getting the better of Pakistan in the group stage.

Read more: Sunil Gavaskar picks Shubman Gill as India’s stand out performer in 2023

India to kick-start their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign on June 5

The marquee tournament is six months away from going all guns blazing. As per the sources, India will play against Pakistan, Ireland, USA and Canada in the group stage. India will begin their T20 World Cup campaign on June 5 against Ireland in New York.

The Men in Blue will play their second match against Pakistan. They will play their third game against the USA in New York. India’s fourth group stage clash will be up against Canada on June 15 in Florida. The two top teams of the respective groups will advance to the Super 8, which will kick off in the West Indies.


This Super 8 stage will have two groups, each comprising four teams wherein each team will play three games. For the record, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals. The sources say that the semi-finals will be held on the 26th and 28th. The finals will be held on June 29th.

The T20 World Cup has produced wonderful, thrilling and spine-chilling moments since the inaugural edition. Among the teams, West Indies and England won two trophies each. On the other hand, the likes of India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Australia won a trophy apiece.

Read more: Sumit Kumar breaks silence after losing INR 1 crore IPL contract due to picture goof-up

Back to top button