Cricket News

IPL 2024: Suresh Raina drops hint about joining LSG as mentor

Lucknow Super Giants who were inducted into the lucrative IPL were mentored by Gautam Gambhir for two seasons (IPL 2022 and 2023) before he shifted his base to his old franchise, Kolkata Knight Riders, where he will play the role of a mentor for the upcoming season.

As things stand, the mentor spot is left vacant at Lucknow Super Giants and just as when the fans were figuring out who would fit the bill, Suresh Raina has perhaps dropped a major hint that he might as well be joining the LSG franchise as the mentor.

Earlier, reports were doing the rounds on the internet that Suresh Raina might replace Gautam Gambhir as the mentor of LSG. Now that, Gambhir has officially joined KKR as a mentor, some fans started to believe that Raina is willing to take up the role.

Read More: IPL 2024: ‘He is doing well now’ – CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan provides update on MS Dhoni’s fitness

Suresh Raina gives cryptic reply to journalist on X

The former CSK cricketer recently fuelled the speculations by coming up with a cryptic response to a journalist on X (previously Twitter). One of the fans on that social media portal expressed his delight at the rumours that Raina might take up the role of a mentor at the LSG for the next season.

However, some senior journalists responded to the fan’s post by stating that it was fake news. Meanwhile, Suresh Raina chipped in with a cryptic response that reads, “Why? Your news can’t be rite all the time?” Raina’s reply went viral in no time on the internet and it grabbed the attention of the cricket fraternity.


Lucknow Super Giants qualified for the playoffs in their previous two seasons of the Indian Premier League by finishing third on both occasions. Nevertheless, they lacked the cutting edge to make a bid for the title. However, they will be looking to aim for the title this time around with the help of their resources.

Lucknow Super Giants’ full squad:

KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Kyle Mayers, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Krunal Pandya, Yudhvir Singh, Prerak Mankad, Yash Thakur, Amit Mishra, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav, Mohsin Khan, Devdutt Padikkal (Traded), Shivam Mavi, Arshin Kulkarni, M Siddharth, Ashton Turner, David Willey, Mohd. Arshad Khan, Shivam Mavi, M Siddharth, David Willey, Ashton Turner, Arshin Kulkarni, Mohammad Arshad Khan

Read More: ‘My fight is only on the field’ – Gautam Gambhir clears air while replying Virat Kohli related question

Back to top button