Cricket Videos

IPL 2024: Dejected Rohit Sharma makes his way back to pavilion after El Clasico defeat to CSK

Rohit Sharma's unbeaten century goes in vain at Wankhede Stadium.

Former Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma made the headlines for his scintillating century against Chennai Super Kings at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Unfortunately, his century went in vain as CSK had the last laugh in the El Clasico battle.

Following the defeat, Rohit Sharma kept his head down and made his way back to the pavilion and the video clip of the same gained traction among the fans of the cricket fraternity. The senior pro gave absolutely everything in the run-chase but ended up on the losing side.

Rohit Sharma reached his century in the 20th over of MI’s innings. Upon realizing that the game had already slipped from MI’s hands, the former MI captain didn’t celebrate his milestone. He brought up his century in 61 balls and ended his IPL century drought.

For the record, he scored his maiden IPL century against Kolkata Knight Riders, where he chipped in with 109 in IPL 2012 season. After 12 long years, he scored another one, albeit in a losing cause but won the hearts of the MI fans.

Read more: [WATCH] Mohammad Amir abuses a fan for calling him a fixer in PSL 2024

Chennai Super Kings come up trumps against Mumbai Indians

Batting first, the Yellow army posted 206/4 in their designated quota of 20 overs. Ruturaj Gaikwad top-scored with 69 off 40 balls including 5 fours and as many sixes whereas Shivam Dube scored an unbeaten 66 off 38 balls, laced with 10 fours and 2 sixes.


On the other hand, MI received support from Rohit Sharma in the run-chase as the latter chipped in with 105 off 63 balls (11 fours, 5 sixes). CSK bowlers chipped in with disciplinary bowling variations to contain the runs and restricted MI to 186/6 in 20 overs.

Matheesha Pathirana was the pick of the bowlers for CSK as he registered 4/28 in his quota of 4 overs. The young Sri Lankan cricketer was adjudged the Man of the Match for his bowling masterclass.

Read more: IPL 2024: Yuzvendra Chahal predicts the Orange Cap and Purple Cap winners

Back to top button