IPL 2021: Top 8 captains based on their performances so far


3. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli has been on the receiving end of trolls for not able to steer his side to the maiden IPL trophy despite boasting plenty of experienced players in their arsenal. They have been to the final on 3 occasions but all of the encounters.

However, under Virat Kohli, RCB reached the final only once in IPL 2016 season where they lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad. RCB finished fourth and qualified for the playoffs last time but were knocked out by Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Eliminator.

RCB kick-started their campaign with a bang as they won four games in a row for the first time in their history. They won 5 games but suffered defeats at the hands of Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings. As of now, they are placed third in the points table.

2. MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni CSK

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the second-most successful captain in the history of the Indian Premier League. Under his astute leadership traits, CSK won three titles in IPL 2010, 2011 and in 2019 respectively. CSK have been the most consistent team in the IPL.

They made a name for themselves for qualifying for the playoffs in all their participating seasons except for the IPL 2020 season where they failed to make it to the playoffs for the first time. However, they backed their strengths by signing the right players for the new season.

The yellow brigade retained their core group of players and started their campaign on a positive note. Despite their opening defeat to Delhi Capitals, CSK won 4 games in a row and then lost to Mumbai Indians in their 6th game. Currently, CSK are second in the stands with 5 wins.